Posted by: bellissimanh | May 13, 2009

Knees to the Earth

*blowing the dust off the ole blog*

Yikes. Has life interrupted or what? Between getting ready for our annual dinner theatre and fighting off a cold, I’ve had not much time for anything. It’s good to be back! (and Alana, I love you for missing me!)

I could do a whole post about what all I’ve been up to, but the Word is my first passion, and I’m eager to jump back into Genesis 22… so just pretend we’ve gotten all that pleasant small talk out of the way, ok? 🙂

So far we’ve looked at the first three verses of this fateful day when the Lord called Abraham to sacrifice his beloved son, Isaac. We’ve talked about how Abraham’s faith was in the Promiser, as much as it was in the promise… and we’ve seen how immediate his obedience was.

Which leads us to verse 4-5…

4 On the third day Abraham looked up and saw the place in the distance. 5 He said to his servants, “Stay here with the donkey while I and the boy go over there. We will worship and then we will come back to you.”

Talk about faith! No wonder Abraham’s name is etched solidly in the Hall of Faith of Hebrews, chapter 11! Did you catch his words there? “We will come back…” He was not lying to his servants. He was exhibiting tremendous faith and trust in the Promiser. See, Abraham knew with his whole heart that anything is possible… EXCEPT that God would fail to keep His Word.

Oh, to have that kind of faith! It’s easy to sit back and speak Christianese… to talk about trusting the Lord in generalities. “Oh yes, sister…. all things are possible with God!” Knowing that all things are possible, and truly trusting Him to work out all things for our good are two entirely different things, though… aren’t they? I can know that God CAN heal me… yet I wonder if He will. My question is not in whether or not He is able, but instead it lies in my inability to precisely discern His will for my life. In the face of not having the answers, I often become paralyzed with fear or anxiety. How I long for Abraham’s faith to lean my entire weight fully upon the God that I love and rest — at PEACE — with solid assurance that He’s working it all out. It’s so easy to say I trust Him… to profess that faith… but my actions during those times of uncertainty will tell the true story. 

It’s tempting to think that maybe Abraham was just expressing wishful thinking out loud to the servants (makes me feel better about my own lack of faith, anyway)… but Hebrews 11:19 clearly tells us that “He considered that God is able to raise men, even from the dead.”  That doesn’t leave much room for rationalization, does it? He wasn’t hoping this was all a mistake and God would change His mind. He was taking his son up that mountain, fairly certain that the Lord would require him to take Isaac’s life.

Can you imagine? We struggle with the Lord calling a child home prematurely as it is… but asking the parent to KILL the child? Now that would call for some serious therapy, don’t ya think? I can’t even wrap my mind around it.

But Abraham saw this as an act of worship. The Hebrew word is “shachah,” and it means “to bown down,” particularly to a Superior. Interestingly, this is the first use of this particular word in Scripture.  I can imagine that Abraham could do nothing less than prostrate himself before his God after this incredible encounter. Yet he is already thinking about it here… before miraculous provision has been made. Can you imagine living with that kind of anticipation? That kind of expectancy that your Father is going to come through for you?

Oh, Lord… there are mountains in my life. There are treks that You have asked me to make. There are situations that leave me full of uncertainty and anxiousness. You know my moments of strength and faith as well as You know the moments of frustration and weakness. You love me the same, every moment of every day. Thank You for being a patient and loving Father. Thank You for teaching me, slow learner though I may be, that You are faithful. You are worthy of all my shacah, Lord… and so today, I fall before You once again… knees to the earth, I bow down.

 

Knees to the Earth    (Watermark)

Wonderful Savior
My heart belongs to Thee
I will remember always
The blood You shed for me
Wonderful Savior
My heart will know Your worth
So I will embrace You always
As I walk this earth

Be blessed, be loved, be lifted high
Be treasured here, be glorified
I owe my life to You, my Lord
Here I am

Beautiful Jesus
How may I bless Your heart?
Knees to the earth
I bow down to everything You are
Beautiful Jesus
You are my only worth
So I will embrace You always
As I walk this earth

Be blessed, be loved, be lifted high
Be treasured here, be glorified
I owe my life to You, my Lord
Here I am

Responses

  1. I love this passage about Abraham and his faith in trusting God when asked to do the unthinkable.

    Sometimes God asks us to do the unthinkable and then gives us the strength and grace to carry out His purposes. Fortunately for Abraham (and Isaac) God didn’t ask him to follow through, but instead made another way.

    Blessings to you as you study His word and share it with others!

  2. This is one of my favorite chapters in the entire Bible. It is rich, rich, rich with meaning and promise. I love the fact that this is the first time that “worship” is used in the Bible–in the context of a man being asked to slay his only son. Our worship should flow from the fact that God DID slay His only Son for us!! How that tenders my heart!

    I have missed you and am glad you are back.

    Leah

  3. This really blessed my heart:) Thanks for the encouraging post… definitely need more of them (hint hint).


Leave a Reply

Categories

