Posted by: bellissimanh | May 6, 2009

Loving Commands

Although we are not bound by law in the New Testament, the Ten Commandments are no less important than they were the day the Lord gave them to Moses. When the Lord gives instructions, there’s a purpose in it. In a recent issue of Discipleship Journal, I found the following and  thought it was a great memory aid. See what you think!

God’s love for us infuses the Ten Commandments in Exodus 20. When we break the commandments, they “break” (bring heartache to) our lives. Because of the commandments’ importance, it’s helpful to have a quick way to bring them to mind. This method uses the first four words of Exodus 20:2: “I am the LORD.”

 

I-dolatry…………….. Don’t worship idols (v. 4-6)

A-dultery…………….Don’t commit adultery (v. 14)

M-urder………………Don’t commit murder (v. 13)

 

T-aking………………Don’t steal (v. 15)

H-onor……………….Obey your parents (v. 12)

E-nvy…………………Don’t covet what isn’t yours (v. 17)

 

L-ying………………..Don’t give false testimony (v. 16)

O-ther gods…………..Don’t worship other gods (v. 3)

R-est………………….Rest on the Sabbath (v. 8-11)

D-isrespect……………Don’t misuse God’s name (v. 7)

 

How about you? Do you have a special tip for remembering the Lord’s instructions recorded in Exodus 20?

Responses

  1. Very nice. Remind me to steal this the next time I teach Ex. 20!

  2. That’s a neat picture and I really like that memory aid!

  3. How cool!! I’ve never seen that before. Some days I’m just lucky to remember my NAME. Maybe I could find an acrostic to help me with that!! LOL!!

    I’m going to copy that and keep it. Thank you so much.

    Leah

  4. I loved this and will try to place this on my brain this summer. You might enjoy reading my “Doing Some House Cleaning” as you’ll understand my first comment.

    I have a Poem that a lady in my Sunday school class gave me a few years ago.

    10 Commandments in Verse:

    Thou no gods shalt have but me
    before no idol bend a knee
    take not the name of God in vain
    dare not the Sabbath day profane
    give both thy parents honor due
    take heed that thou no murder do
    abstain from words and deeds unclean
    steal not though thou be poor and lean
    make not a willful lie nor love it
    what is thy neighbors do not covet

    with all thy soul love God above
    and as thyself thy neighbor love.

    **She was a home-schooling Mom and had her little 3 girls learning this** Lovingly, Yolanda

  5. I linked to you this morning over at Joy Comes In The morning. 😉

  6. That’s so great, Heather. Thanks for sharing with us. Haven’t seen you on Facebook much lately…I hope all is well!


Leave a Reply

Categories

