Posted by: bellissimanh | May 17, 2016

Carpe Diem

untitled
God has me thinking this morning about how very limited my time with my kids is. What seems like a lifetime can pass so quickly. The window of time in which I can impress on them the greatness of my God… how much I want them to know and love Him… how much He loves THEM… it is so small.

“Chasten your son while there is hope, and let not your soul spare for his crying.” (Prov. 19:18)

“In the fear of the Lord is strong confidence, and His children shall have a place of refuge.” (Prov. 14:26)

How I regret the moments that I have wasted. There have been times when I have modeled selfishness instead of Jesus… when I didn’t take the opportunity to speak God’s words instead of my own. If I think about it too much, I can get paralyzed with self-condemnation, and that’s not going to help anything. Instead, I just want to do better. To BE better (through the power of the Holy Spirit).

Father, guide me as I seek to guide my kids. Thank You for their faith – continue to draw them closer to You. Forgive me for the wasted time, and use my regret to motivate me to use every single moment to model You… to fan the flame of Your Spirit in my family… to speak of your greatness, love and justice. Teach us to fear You. Instill in us a holy reverence for Your name, and be a refuge – for all of us. Amen.


Leave a comment

Categories