Posted by: bellissimanh | September 23, 2008

God in the Room

“Mama! Guess what! I think God was in my room tonight!”

This pronouncement came as I was saying goodnight to Noah, who should have been asleep an hour before. Jas is good enough to watch him while we go to church for Praise Team practice on Tuesday nights, and she put him to bed at 8. When I tiptoed in at 9 to kiss him goodnight he was still up.

“Really?” I couldn’t wait for this! I was expecting some fantasy story about the curtains moving or something. 🙂

“Well… not like He showed Himself to me or anything, but I was laying here really missing you, and I prayed that God would comfort me and help me not to cry. Each time I started to cry, the tears just breezed away! I think He answered my prayer and He was with me!”

I kid you not… those were his exact words.

Isaiah 51:12 – “I, even I, am He who comforts you…”

Isaiah 66:13 – “As one whom His mother comforts, so I will comfort you…”

Psalm 4:8 – “I will both lie down in peace, and sleep; for You alone, Oh Lord, make me dwell in safety.”

Father God, thank You for being a God who never slumbers… for caring for us always. Thank You for being a God of all comfort, who draws near to those who call on You. Thank You for reassuring my sweet son tonight not only that You are there, but that You love him deeply and long to meet his needs. Please continue to reveal Yourself to him and keep this fire that burns in his heart for you burning brightly. May he always have a passion to know You more and more

Thank You for using Noah to remind me of Your sovereign care tonight, Lord. Thank You for this lesson. You know the anxieties that loom. You know the specific things that cause me concern… and You are here with me, as well. You know me. You love me. You draw near and comfort me. You will continue to meet my needs.

I praise You, for You alone have the power to supply what I so desperately lack. You are more than capable of being everything I need. You are worthy to be adored… to be placed on a pedestal. Forgive me for ever letting anything else take that place… for forgetting even for one second that You’re in control and working all things for my good and Your glory. Tear down the idols that have crept up in my life and take Your rightful place on the throne of my heart… of my life. I’m awed by Your holiness. I’m overwhelmed by Your majesty. I’m humbled by Your love. Thank You, Jesus

Responses

  1. I love when I see faith grow in the hearts of my children and see their relationship with God become their own.

    I can see it’s happening at your house too. How exciting.

    Kate

  2. That is absolutely precious!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

  3. isn’t it amazing how God works through children to make us realize we too only have to have the mind of a child. Then we can also have the peace that they have. We sometimes try to make it soi complicated. Thanks for sharing this with me and helping me see through the heart of a child. Love you all, Sue

  4. I’m blown away by Noah’s faith. Lord, give me a heart and mind like a child’s to freely and openly accept and trust You.

  5. That is just so precious! It’s great that you write these moments down… then he can look at them when he’s grown:) Just amazing what our little children teach/remind of us each day.

  6. Wonderful reminder! Thank you for sharing. Sue is right – we try too hard to make God’s promises so complicated. He wants our faith to be childlike…about everything.

  7. My Godchild is such a God Child. I love you Noah!
    Love you too Heather

  8. I can think of no greater joy than when Nathan makes a connection or has a thought related to God. He often says things that are really profound because he sees things through the lens of innocence and wonder. That is a beautiful story!

    Xandra

  9. Ditto from Nana on what Papa said

  10. That is beautiful, and you are a winner! Come to my blog to see. Email me your home address!
    Sue

  11. What a sweet boy. Our God is such a comforter even to our little ones. Often times Richie will ask me to pray with because he is afraid. I love that he receives comfort from it!

  12. Do you not just LOVE kids and their innocent faith? Such lessons for us in that. He is a doll, and I know he’s right — God WAS in his room.

  13. How precious!
    Blessings from Costa Rica


Leave a Reply

Categories

