Posted by: bellissimanh | January 20, 2010

Buckle Up!

 

My Subaru Outback was the best car I’ve ever owned… including the Nissan Murano that I just HAD to have last year. I loved that little Subaru. It was great in the snow, and held some wonderful memories.

*We drove it to Cape Cod for our honeymoon

*Joel decided to take a scenic photo as we sat in traffic on the way home from said honeymoon and bumped into the car in front of us… $2500 worth of damage to my “new” car.

*It carried us back and forth to Boston when Jas was a patient at the Shriner’s hospital.

*We drove it to the wedding of a friend – from NH to Indiana in one weekend.

That said, after giving us over 200,000 miles, it was time to turn her in. She had done her work well, and she was tired. In the search for a new car, I fell in love with the Nissan Murano. Maybe it was infatuation, because I have certainly complained plenty about this car since we bought it. LOL.

That said, it does have one feature that I love. The outside temperature gauge. It tells me what the temp is outside, so I’ll have a better idea of how the roads are… is that rain freezing, or just wet? Having that information helps me to be extra cautious when circumstances warrant it… it’s like a faithful friend, warning me of danger and doing its best to keep me safe from harm.

How I love that my heavenly Father has given me some gauges for my spiritual well-being too! He has supplied me with His Spirit, who teaches me all things… and brings to remembrance the things Jesus has taught. This knowledge can help me to walk in obedience, which keeps me safe. The Holy Spirit brings discernment, enabling me to see things that my human nature might otherwise miss.

“But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all things that I said to you.” (John 14:26)

The Lord has also given me another incredible instrument with which to gauge the world around me: His Word.

“All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work.” (2 Timothy 3:16-17)

That pretty much sums it up, doesn’t it? If you need more, how about this little tidbit?

“Every word of God is pure;
He is a shield to those who put their trust in Him.” (Prov. 30:5)

Now here’s the thing. As cool (no pun intended) as that fancy guage in my car is, it’s only as good as the amount of attention I give it. If I never look at the temperature display panel, it’s information won’t have any impact on my life whatsoever. The roads could be just on the verge of freezing, with black ice covering patches… but if I refuse to heed the warning that device offers, the results could be devastating. It’s the same with my spiritual walk. The Lord has given me everything I need for life and godliness (2 Peter 1:3), but if I ignore Him, and the tools He’s given me to help me along the way, most likely I will end up in a head-on collision with sin and it’s consequences. I am so grateful that He cares enough to direct me… aren’t you?

“Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” (Isaiah 30:21)

Buckle up… this life is a wild ride. Stay in step with the Spirit and walk in the Word… we can’t make it through this journey without them!


Responses

  1. Our cars can become pretty special to us, because of the memories we connect with them.
    I like your application to our spiritual gauges!

  2. Wonderful post, Heather. I’m sure I wear the Holy Spirit out sometimes. I am so thankful that Christ left His Spirit with us. The thought of being on my own in this nasty world is frightening to me.

    Leah

  3. Thanks for the reminder to pay attention!

  4. Hey sweet Heather,

    Thanks for sharing this today. I needed to hear it!!!

    Blessings,
    Dori

  5. yea… our car that I totaled was the same – great in snow – and it had the temp gauge for outside, too. (but it did have almost 250,000 miles on it…) I miss the tamp gauge, too, partly for the same reason.
    And yes, I am glad for our Bibles!! 🙂 Where would I be without it!


Leave a comment

Categories