Posted by: bellissimanh | January 8, 2010

The Simple Woman’s Daybook

The Simple Woman’s Daybook is hosted by Peggy Hostetler. To participate, click the graphic below 🙂

Outside my window… a mountain of snow on the back deck. One of these days I’ll get motivated to shovel it off… the roof shed on it and I’m pretending I didn’t see it.

I am thinking… that I’m grateful it’s Friday.

I am thankful for… the fact that the CT scan showed Joel’s tumor is gone (at least what they could see) – Thank You, Jesus!

I am wearing… jeans, a blue turtleneck, and a Tom Brady football jersey (and my patriots earrings, of course).  Hey… it’s casual Friday at the office and we’re in the playoffs, baby!!

I am remembering… my sweet friend Dotty teaching me to drive a standard in her big red pickup truck when I was 16. I’ll be attending her funeral Saturday. She was a huge part of my childhood, including being my first bf’s mom. She prayed for me faithfully for many years… what a blessing she was to so many! I’m sad at our loss, but rejoicing that she’s now in the arms of Jesus.

I am going… to work. Missed Wednesday due to sickness, and don’t work on Thursdays. Looking forward to a productive day. I just wish I felt better. 😦

I am currently reading… “The Associate” by John Grisham and “To Fly Again” by Gracia Burnham.

I am hoping… to be more consistent in my study habits this year. To MAKE time for inductive Bible Study and really digging in.

On my mind… the anxiety attack I experienced at the grocery store yesterday. Prayers are appreciated.

Noticing that… I’m more content to stay home lately than to go out, even for church activities. Is it the stress in my life that makes me want to stick close to home and soak up all the family I can get?

Pondering these words… “My grace is sufficient for you…”

From the kitchen… made Pasta E Fagioli for dinner last night (thank you, Mari!). It was amazing. Joel announced it was the best soup he’s ever tasted. Needless to say, I’m taking leftovers to work with me today for lunch.

Around the house… got productive yesterday. Laundry caught up (even matched all the socks and folded underwear — that NEVER happens in this house!)   Kitchen cleaned (twice).  Grocery shopped. Made a nice homecooked meal. Worked on the baby sweater I’m knitting. Nice.

One of my favorite things~ listening to Noah (age 9) sing worship choruses. The other day he went from “Sweeter” (Every day with You, Lord… sweeter than the day before… every morning I will worship, every evening, I’ll adore… every day with You is sweeter, sweeter than the day before) to “Change My Heart, O God.” Does a mom’s heart good.

From my picture journal:

One of my favorite pictures from a photo shoot promoting our women’s retreat at church. These are three of my closest friends. Just looking at this makes my heart swell up with gratitude and a smile come to my lips. I love you, ladies!

Responses

  1. Love you too
    Nana Fran

  2. I had a panic attack in the grocery store one time. There must be ‘shelf’ demons in the grocery or something!!

    Leah

  3. how are you enjoying the book by Gracia Burnham? I have her other book (well, her first one, I don’t know how many she’s written!) if you want to read it, too. I am praying for you… still do every day. I love you.

  4. I’m so sad to read about your anxiety attack. You have been through a lot lately. Don’t blame you for wanting to stick close to home.


Leave a Reply

Categories

