Posted by: bellissimanh | February 3, 2016

Let Go and Love

tearDo you remember the story? Two whores in a brothel each bear a son, within days of each other. During the night, one of the boys dies. The mother then takes her dead child and swaps it with the living child of the other harlot, claiming the living child is her own. Upon waking, the other woman first takes in the dead baby in her arms (can you imagine?) and then realizes that he is not actually her son, but the other woman’s child. The two go before King Solomon, who orders that the child be split in two with a sword. The true mother of the child cries out and says the other woman can have the baby – only let him live. The king wisely discerns that she is the true mother of the child, because she was willing to give him up so that he could live. I’m telling you… the Bible is full of drama and intrigue! (1 Kings 3:16-28)

This has me thinking this morning (and praying) about the way I love others, my family in particular. This is a tale of extreme sacrifice. The harlot was willing to give up all rights to her son, if it meant he would be saved. She let go of her own desires to put the needs of her loved one first. That’s what love does… it sacrifices.

“For God so loved the world that He gave his only Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish, but have eternal life.” John 3:16

“Greater love has no man than this: that he lay down his life for his friends.” John 15:13

“Dear children, let us not love with words or speech, but with actions and in truth.” 1 John 3:18

Father, what might you be asking me to give up for my family? In what areas do I need to loosen my grip? Show me any selfishness that is getting in the way of what’s best for my husband, for my children, and help me to let go of that. Show me how to love them well.

Leave a Reply

Categories

