Posted by: bellissimanh | January 22, 2016

Space for Grace

hypocriteEver get fed up with hypocrisy? Yeah. I totally get it. I usually have a tougher time accepting Christians who don’t act like Christ than I do dealing with the actions of people who don’t profess to know God. It’s the contradiction that makes me crazy… don’t say one thing and do another. Don’t claim to follow Christ when following your own agenda is really what’s most important to you. Ugh.

But then I remember this…

“When Jesus heard this, He told them, ‘Those who are well don’t need a doctor, but the sick do need one. I didn’t come to call the righteous, but sinners.’”
-Mark 2:17

We are all human, whether we know the Lord or not. Jesus came for the sick… and that leaves no room for exception. We’re ALL sick. Sin-sick. With Christ, we do have a choice. We don’t HAVE to sin… but we do. So maybe (definitely) I need to ease up and give a little grace. Maybe it’s time to take off my judge’s robe and don a towel instead so I can wash some feet.

I’m grateful today for the reminder that I can be as hypocritical as the next guy. My actions don’t always match my words. There are times when I am begging for grace… desperately in need of forgiveness and a second chance… and humility is holy. If I expect others to love me, shortcomings and all, then I should be quick to lavish that love on others – whether they seem particularly lovable or not. This is the gospel. Jesus came into the world to save sinners – of whom I am the worst.

Praying to make space for grace today. For everyone.

Leave a Reply

Categories

