Posted by: bellissimanh | January 6, 2016

Brick by Brick

prideA new promise. A new earth. Fresh grace. This is what God offered to His people following the great flood. Yet how quickly men returned to their own selfish ways. Pride is such an ugly thing, isn’t it? It leads us to do things we never would have thought ourselves capable of. Sometimes I think we don’t even realize we’re doing it.

Pride led the people of earth to build a tower – they wanted to be the center of attention.

 “Then they said, ‘Come, let us build ourselves a city and a tower with its top in the heavens, and let us make a name for ourselves, lest we be dispersed over the face of the whole earth.’” (Genesis 11:4)

What is it about us that even after having been lavished with love from the Father, we continue to seek our own glory? Maybe we don’t band together and call it what it is like the people of Shinar did, but honestly, we’re no different. Brick by brick, we lay a foundation to exalt ourselves.

“Look at my children – aren’t they wonderful?” And a brick is laid.

“That 4.0 GPA? Yeah… I did that!” Some cement.

“Check out this fabulous dinner I created. It’s pinterest worthy!” The tower continues to grow.

Don’t misunderstand me. I’m not saying that it’s wrong to celebrate accomplishments or to take pride in our children and the blessings God has given to us… I just think that we should be checking our motivation – always. If we don’t, we’re liable to see that monument we’ve been building come crashing to the ground. Everything we do should be for Him… to bring Him glory. Him.

Pride says, “Let me…” Grace says, “He HAS…”

Father, rid me of myself, and instill in me a desire to make You known… to be sure everyone knows that the only good in me is Jesus, and that You alone are responsible for any success in my life. Let me focus on building Your kingdom, instead of my own. I love You, Lord.

Leave a Reply

Categories

