Posted by: bellissimanh | November 25, 2015

Who is your everything?

disappointedI’m incredibly foolish sometimes. Although I know that God has promised to care for me, I still get caught up in trying to handle things on my own. I look to an abundance of other sources to meet my needs. At the top of the list is my amazing husband.

I put way too much pressure on him when I live as though he is responsible for my happiness. It’s not his job to make me feel secure and fulfilled. God didn’t intend for him to be everything for me. If Joel were able to meet every need I have, I would have no need of God. See, there are longings in my heart that only God Himself can satisfy, and if I look to my husband to fill those desires, I will end up disappointed and disillusioned… not because my husband isn’t an incredible gift from God to me (he is), but because even a great husband makes a very poor God.

It is better to take refuge in the Lord
than to trust in man.
It is better to take refuge in the Lord
than to trust in nobles. (Psalm 118:8-9)

Maybe you know what I’m talking about. It doesn’t have to be your husband, either. It could be a parent. A child. A friend. A pastor. Listen to me – nobody can handle the pressure of meeting needs in your life that God alone is meant to fill. If you’re feeling let down by someone who you thought was going to take care of things for you, maybe this reminder is for you too. Look to the One who has promised to be your everything. He will never fail you. And give those other guys a break… 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

