Posted by: bellissimanh | November 17, 2015

Ugly Secrets

SecretSin_apple_640_204-620x250

Sin is ugly. David knew that there was even sin in his life that he didn’t know about, and so he asked God to forgive him for his unintentional sins. But then there’s the other stuff… the things we do when we know better. The things we’ve been warned about by others… by God. Heck, often we’ve often warned OTHERS about these sins… yet we get on with our bad self and do it anyway. That’s a scary mindset right there.

Who perceives his unintentional sins?
Cleanse me from my hidden faults.
Moreover, keep Your servant from willful sins;
do not let them rule over me.
Then I will be innocent
and cleansed from blatant rebellion.
 May the words of my mouth
and the meditation of my heart
be acceptable to You,
LORD, my rock and my Redeemer.  (Psalm 19:12-13)

Here’s the thing about sin – it has a progression. David Guzik describes it this way:

•      It goes from passing temptation to chosen thought (errors).
•      It goes from chosen thought to object of meditation.
•      It goes from object of meditation to wished-for fulfillment.
•      It goes from wished-for fulfillment to planned action (secret faults).
•      It goes from planned action to opportunity sought.
•      It goes from opportunity sought to performed act.
•      It goes from action to repeated action.
•      It goes from repeated action to delight (presumptuous sins).
•      It goes from delight to new and various ways.
•      It goes from new and various ways to habit.
•      It goes from habit to idolatry, demanding to be served.
•      It goes from idolatry to sacrifice.
•      It goes from sacrifice to slavery.

That’s quite a list, isn’t it? But get this – all along that path, from the moment we are faced with a temptation to the place where we become enslaved to sin… we have a choice.

“No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to humanity. God is faithful, and He will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation He will also provide a way of escape so that you are able to bear it.” (1 Corinthians 10:13)

If David – a  man after God’s own heart – needed to pray “Keep Your servant from willful sins”, my guess is it’s a safe bet my attitude should be the same.

Father, shine Your light in my heart and expose any darkness that lies within me. Open my eyes to the sins that are hidden – whether because I’m not recognizing them as sin, or because I’m trying to keep them private. Then there’s the other junk, Lord. The blatant sin that I don’t even try to keep secret. Gossip. Grumbling. Jealousy. Unforgiveness. Truly, I am a hot mess. I need You desperately, Jesus – squash all of this ugliness in me. Create in me a clean heart and renew Your Spirit within me – and may the words I say and the meditation of my heart be something that makes You smile. You have redeemed me, and given the price You paid, You deserve this and so much more. I love You, Lord. Thank You that I am no longer a slave to sin – that I have a choice. Help me to choose wisely, for Your sake. Amen.

Leave a Reply

Categories

