Posted by: bellissimanh | November 11, 2015

Be Still and Know… (that means you)

Sometimes I struggle to be still. When I have poured out my heart to God about a particular issue, I get impatient. If I don’t see Him at work immediately in the situation, I tend to… well… fret. I wrestle with things myself and my worrying invariably leads to my trying to DO something about the circumstances. And there’s the trouble… because when I take things into my own hands, running ahead of God, nothing good comes from that.

It’s easy for me to get frustrated, especially when it comes to my kids. I see the influences they are faced with every day and it can be overwhelming. Evil seems to be everywhere and there are a hundred different voices telling them to do and be something completely different from what God wants for them. It’s enough to make a mama sick with worry. How can I possibly compete with all of that when I have only a few short hours a day with them each day? How do I balance my responsibility as a parent to train them up in the Lord with the need to let them work out their own salvation with fear and trembling? Is my “guidance” nurturing, or is it bullying? I’m constantly stressing over whether I’ve said enough… or too much. Seriously… I can obsess with the best of them. And into the chaotic frenzy of my mind, He says to me, “Be still and know that I am God.”

Today, I’m choosing to heed His words…

Trust in the Lord, and do good;
dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.
 Delight yourself in the Lord,
and he will give you the desires of your heart.” (Psalm 37:3-4)

I know that this desire of my heart for my children to have a deep and abiding relationship with Christ is from God. He has promised that if I’m delighting myself in Him, He will align my wants with His will. This verse is packed with promise.

Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him;
fret not yourself over the one who prospers in his way,
over the man who carries out evil devices!
Refrain from anger, and forsake wrath!
Fret not yourself; it tends only to evil.” (Psalm 37:7-8)

The last line of verse 8 is speaking to me this morning… “Fret not yourself; it tends only to evil.” I’m guilty of focusing on the enemy, instead of rehearsing the faithfulness of my God… and when I do that, I am putting myself in a dangerous position. Matthew Henry says, “A fretful, discontented spirit is open to many temptations”, and I know this to be true. Much better to trust… to be still and know – truly KNOW – that He is God, and more than capable of handling the things that concern me.

I think it’s time to shut up and look up.
be stil and know

Leave a Reply

Categories

