Posted by: bellissimanh | December 3, 2013

Joyfully counting to One Thousand Gifts…

I’ve been thinking about this all day. Seriously. ALL.DAY.

Today will mark 1,000 gifts counted. Just three left to be included in the first thousand. To be honest, a part of me was wondering if I’d find something really special to share… you know, in honor of reaching that goal of 1,000.

But what I’ve realized is this… some of the greatest gifts are mine as a result of the process. They’re not in the list itself, but in the listING of blessings.

  • A slowed pace – time to reflect on just how good God is to me.
  • Eyes to see – to find the graciousness of a Savior in the mundane.
  • A happy heart – focused on what’s here, as opposed to what isn’t.
  • An eternal focus – remembering that this world is not my home.
  • A deeper appreciation for family – how often they have graced my list!
  • Peace – in knowing that I’m living out God’s will for me (1 Thess.5:18)

DSC_1784Ready? I am!

998. The fact that God’s love endures FOREVER (and ever and EVER).
999. My family. ‘Nuff said.
1,000. Jesus – He is EVERYTHING.

So many people have asked me what I’d do when I finally reached 1,000. The answer? The only thing I can do — keep counting.  Because, “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change” (James 1:17), and “For where [my]  treasure is, there [my] heart will be also” (Matthew 6:21).

How about you? Care to join me? You’ll be amazed at how this giving thanks thing will impact your life (and the lives of those around you!) Check out One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are by Ann Voskamp.

Leave a Reply

Categories

