Posted by: bellissimanh | September 24, 2012

Because He is, I am…

I’m a girl who used to skip her lunch hour every day. I had way too much to do (I reasoned) to stop what I was doing, and I would just eat as I worked. My boss convinced me that taking that hour is a necessary break from the grind that would actually make me more productive. He was right… (ssssssssh… don’t tell him), but it’s become so much more than that.

Each day, I now gather a few things and leave the office. I’ve tried several spots, but so far my favorite has been a little local coffee place called “Frontside Grind” (appropriate, don’t you think?)  With my hands wrapped around a warm mug of latte, and my Bible on my lap, I allow His truth to sink into the deepest parts of me. I pick up my pen and begin to express what I feel Him whispering to my heart. (What is it about the aroma of really good coffee that just makes the Word seem more rich? Is it just me?)

“For you are all sons of God through faith in Christ Jesus. For as many of you as were baptized into Christ have put on Christ. There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is neither male nor female; for you are all one in Christ Jesus. And if you are Christ’s, then you are Abraham’s seed, and heirs according to the promise.” (Gal. 3:26-29)

As I reflected on this portion of Galatians, these words came to mind: “Because He IS the promise, I am….” I have so much because of what Jesus did for me. I felt prompted to begin sharing – pen to paper – all the things that I am, because He is.

The list was fairly extensive. But it also could have been even more extravagant. As I looked over the things I had written down – each a different facet of the diamond that is my identity in Christ – I picked up on a theme. I wasn’t conscious of it as I was scribbling my “names”, but it was there, just the same… evident in words like “adopted,” “counted,” “accepted,” “loved,” “included,” “cherished,” “not alone,” and in BOLD letters, the one that means the most to me — “HIS.”

Clearly – for me – there is something that speaks to my scars louder than almost anything else. Belonging. In a world where I am constantly feeling that I don’t fit in, that I fail to measure up, that I’m not enough… or even that I’m too much… Jesus tells me that I am His, and that I BELONG. It’s exactly what I needed to be reminded of today, and it has tendered my heart more than I can say. He is… everything. And I am HIS. Completely.

Do you belong?

Responses

  1. Love this. You are blessed, chosen adopted, forgiven and accepted in the beloved!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

