Posted by: bellissimanh | September 22, 2012

She reads – He speaks

Inhale deeply. Breathe in peace… encouragement… conviction… blessing… victory… holiness. As I open up my heart to His voice, and take the time to slow my pace and just BE with Him, He gifts me in a fashion that I don’t experience any other way.

This week, I’ve been reading through Galatians with the She Reads Truth community. Each day at lunchtime, I pack up my things and leave the office – seeking out a quiet place to commune with Jesus. At a picnic table in the park. On the patio at Subway, looking out over Mt. Washington. On a comfy sofa in a local market. The place really doesn’t matter as much as the company. No one but me and my Savior. I have been blessed.

Galatians is a familiar book to me. Actually, a study I’ve been involved in has been working through Galatians over the summer. Yet God is always faithful to speak freshly through His Word, regardless of how many times I’ve read over the words before… and this week was so RICH. I think what spoke to me most powerfully was this…

“For am I now trying to win the favor of people or God? Or am I striving to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a slave of Christ.” (Gal. 1:10)

 

“But we did not give up and submit to these people even for an hour, so that the truth of the gospel would be preserved for you.” (Gal. 2:5)

“He created each one of us with the grace to RUN and share His promise with others – the outward appearances don’t matter.”

How my heart needed to hear this! I realized that I had heard some lies, pertaining to my place in “ministry” over and over, and that although I knew they were not truth, they affected how I felt… how I lived. NO MORE. I’m done living as if what others think has any true bearing on the path the Lord has ordained for me to walk. He has a plan to use me, right where I am… and I intend to be obedient to that.

Forsaking fear. Clinging to Christ. He deserves that and so much more.

Responses

  1. Found your post through She Shares. I love that you described your reading of Galatians as “RICH” – I so agree. Thanks for sharing your thoughts :-).


Leave a Reply

Categories

