Posted by: bellissimanh | September 21, 2012

Wide – and beautiful

It’s Friday, and I’m joining the community of Five Minute Friday at the Gypsy Mama for some free writing. The rules are simple.  Follow the writing prompt, no extreme editing,  write for five minutes flat and (most importantly) encourage the person who linked up just before you. Feel free to join us!

Today’s word is WIDE.

 

GO.

“For this reason, I bow my knees before the Father, from whom every family in heaven and on earth derives its name, that He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with power through His Spirit in the inner man; so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; and that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ which surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled up to all the fullness of God.” ~Ephesians 3:14-19

Unfathomable. Inexpressible. That’s how wide is His love for me.

  • Wide enough to bridge the canyon of my insecurities.
  • Wide enough to include sinner and saint – of which I am both.
  • Wide enough to reach the depths of my pain and pull me from a pit of despair.
  • Wide enough to cover the wretchedness of my heart, and to see not what I am or what I have been, but what He knows I can be.
  • Wide enough to heal the broken places in my soul, to breathe new life into my weary bones and remind me that I am His.
  • Wide enough to empower me to lavish that love on others… in extravagant and beautiful ways.

And it’s wide enough for you too.  Embrace that, today.

STOP.

#FiveMinuteFriday – Check out the Five Minute Friday Party here. 🙂

Responses

  1. Wonderfully wide, yes! I love your bullet points and amen every one of them.

  2. Amen!! So thankful…

  3. Heather- Great reminders of how wide God’s love and grace extend…I had the Ephesians scripture in mind as I wrote my “Wide” response this morning. I love reading all the ways people respond to one word.

  4. “Wide enough to heal the broken places in my soul, to breathe new life into my weary bones and remind me that I am His.” Absolutely! Boy are my bones weary…but He gives me strength! Blessings #fmfparty sister!

  5. I love how you elaborated on the wide-ness of God this morning. “Wide enough to include sinner and saint – of which I am both.” What a beautiful phrasing of this powerful truth. Thank you for placing the focus firmly on Jesus…on the many chasms he bridges with his goodness, his love and his grace. I’m blessed by you this morning. So glad to have found you through FMF and to have you find me, too. 🙂 (So touched by your comments!)

  6. So amazingly beautiful. Bless you.

  7. nice post thanks for sharing…blessings


Leave a Reply

Categories

