Posted by: bellissimanh | February 7, 2012

A Hand Engraved Invitation to a New Beginning

“Christ is both Alpha and Omega. When our lives are immersed in Him, every ending, everything we believe to be the death of us is instead a hand-engraved invitation to a new beginning.” ~Beth Moore

This quote is from a Bible Study I’m currently doing: “Stepping UP… A Journey Through the Psalms of Ascent.” I don’t know if a study has ever been so perfectly timed for me. The truths I have encountered in the pages of God’s Word have brought me to tears more than once… tears of joy and thanksgiving.

It almost feels as if over the last two years, I have experienced a death of sorts, as well as a rebirth. Initially, I was in a very comfortable place. Happy marriage and family, deeply involved in church ministry, surrounded by friends. Then, within the scope of a few weeks, I found myself living with a wounded and hurting family, stripped of all ministry service, and abandoned by people I had believed would stand by me through the most difficult period of my life. Honestly, some days it did feel like it would be the death of me, and I grieved… oh, how I grieved!

Now, over two years later, I’m in a new place. The Lord has healed and breathed new life into my marriage and where once I had a spouse who recognized the Lord in name only, I now have a life partner who truly is a man after God’s own heart and he dives into God’s Word with me each and every morning, and prays with me as well. My children are thriving, and maturing in their own relationships with the Lord. Each of us has grown so much. The path to this place was rocky and steep, but the reward for having made the journey is amazing.

Our church family is drastically different. We still have some friends (more like family) who attend other churches, but our worship center is a much more intimate circle. We have moved from traditional church to a home church, and are being blessed beyond measure by the way God is using it to bring healing, and to help us refocus on what’s really important. There are so many things that are different, and take some getting used to… but they’re not bad things. For example, since we don’t have any overhead costs or church bills to speak of, we have the blessing of being able to take our tithe money and give it to whomever the Lord lays on our heart each week… 100% of our giving goes to help our brothers and sisters in Christ who are struggling. I love that! I’m excited to see what God will do with our little home church. Pray for us, will you? J

God has shown me the value of friendship, and also given me discernment as to what true friendship really looks like. I have some jewels in my life, and I’m so thankful for them (you know who you are)! I would list them here, but I’m afraid I might leave someone out unintentionally, and that would not be good. What a blessing that there are enough that I have to worry about forgetting someone!  As for the others? The ones that couldn’t handle my messy life? It’s better that they’ve moved on. Kind of like a friendship refining process, the dross has been purged and gold remains. And I’m thankful beyond words for each precious hunk.

Here’s to new beginnings, and the endings that usher them in. I’m leaving the pages in between to the Author of my faith. Although sometimes I wish it didn’t resemble a soap opera quite so much, He’s the best storyteller! My story has more than enough plot turns to keep it interesting. It’s filled with drama and excitement, spectacular healing and miracles, and a magnificent Hero who will one day come for me on a white horse. And in the end, for all of its ups and downs… it truly is a beautiful romance after all, this story of the King and I.

“And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.” ~Romans 8:28

Responses

  1. Amen!! I am very thankful for what God has done for/through/in you these last two years!!

  2. oh.. p.s.. thank you for sharing – and I am going to write that quote down, to think on it. 🙂

  3. Jonalie? 🙂

  4. What a beautiful post!! I can almost feel the fresh wind blowing off your post and blog. How wonderful! I’m envious of your current church situation. We are in a tough place right now in our church and my heart is breaking over it. I know the Lord will take care of it but it surely is not fun.

    Isn’t it interesting how certain studies speak differently to each of us? I did not enjoy Stepping UP at all but I have friends who really did. Likewise there are studio that really spoke to me that did not speak to my friends. That is the beauty of God’s Word…it speaks a Rhema word in due season.

    Bless you, my friend.

  5. Amen! Love that about His Word!

    I’m definitely at a new place, and while there are many things I miss about traditional church (musical worship, for one), I don’t miss the politics at all. The church today seems (to me) to be so far from what it looked like when it began… I’m enjoying getting back to the basics with a group of people who are more concerned with what God thinks and wants than they are with popular opinion. Nothing is watered down… and there is genuine love there, among ALL the members (I’m not sure this is possible in larger congregations). But I’ll climb off my soapbox now. 🙂

    Praying for your circumstances to be straightened out to the glory of God, and for His discernment each step of the way. Love you much.


Leave a Reply

Categories

