Posted by: bellissimanh | January 6, 2012

The Bow of Brokenness

Some days I’m a glass half-full kind of girl (ok, not many… I’m working on it), but then there are days that I’m just living out of a place of brokenness. Days when hurts of the past seem to haunt me, and no matter how many times I have vowed to give them to Jesus and be done with it… there they are, in all their ugliness, nearly taunting me with thoughts like, “This will never be behind you…” or “You haven’t really forgiven now, have you?” and the ever popular “Look at all you’ve lost…

U-G-L-Y. But that’s how the enemy is, right?

Have you ever heard just the right word at exactly the right time? Listening to the live stream of Passion 2012 yesterday, this statement by Louie Giglio resonated with me… DEEP.

“Brokenness is the bow from which God launches the arrows of healing.”

Because no matter what satan tries to tell me, this is what GOD says:

“The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.” Psalm 34:18

And He does this through Jesus…

“ 1 The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me,

because the LORD has anointed me

to proclaim good news to the poor.

He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,

to proclaim freedom for the captives

and release from darkness for the prisoners,[a]

2 to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor

and the day of vengeance of our God,

to comfort all who mourn,

3 and provide for those who grieve in Zion—

to bestow on them a crown of beauty

instead of ashes,

the oil of joy

instead of mourning,

and a garment of praise

instead of a spirit of despair.

They will be called oaks of righteousness,

a planting of the LORD

for the display of his splendor.” Isaiah 61:1-3

Not only that, but He promises to use my brokenness to bring comfort and healing to others…

“ 3 Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, 4 who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.” 2 Cor. 1:3-4

What if I were to take the lies and half-truths the enemy throws at me and toss back some of THIS? What if I were to take hold of and believe… really believe… that I am a quiver in the bow of My God, and that He has a divine plan to use my junk — my pain, my hurts, my brokenness — and shoot some healing into the life of someone else? Now that would be something, wouldn’t it?

It’s not just mine… He wants to use your stuff too. The baggage. The remains of your broken past. The sting of lost friendships and bad mistakes… of should haves and could haves and would haves if only. Won’t you give it to Him today? Place yourself in the hands of the Awesome Archer, and let Him take aim and fire at will… HIS will. Then get ready for some healing to take place… because He is faithful!

Responses

  1. Honestly, my friend, this is one of the best posts you have ever offered. It is wonderful. Not that your others were not, but this one….Oh my word. I hear healing in the words. WOW!!

  2. Leah, I adore you. So thankful to have you on this journey with me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

