Posted by: bellissimanh | January 2, 2012

Let it Rain…

I mentioned in my New Year’s post that my theme verse for the year is 2 Corinthians 9:8. With a focus on grace this year, it makes the perfect partner to my theme word.

“And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.”

I decided to start my reflections of grace by making it personal. I often take a verse that I’m meditating on and paraphrase it. I love the way it helps me to really chew on the Word and make it part of my soul. It does a heart good.

“And God…” – my Creator, the One who knows me better than anyone else, and loves me just as much
“…is able to make” – He is sovereign, which means He has all power and authority. He not only desires things for me, but is capable of bringing them to pass.
“…all grace” – unmerited favor, a blessing that can only come from Him
“…abound” – not just enough, but a deluge of grace – a drenching, refreshing flood
“…to you” – to me, sinful as I am, broken and flawed
“…in all things, at all times” – He will use every situation as a vehicle for this grace
“…having all that you need” – total sufficiency, this is powerful stuff!
“…you will abound in every good work” – God blessed me so that I can bless others. Serve them. LOVE them.

He showers me with His grace, and expects me to take it and lavish it upon others. It’s not just for me… it’s for you, too.  This year of grace is going to be a challenge, but He has equipped me to pursue His grace and live it out.

I’m ready for the showers, Lord… rain down Your grace. I want to be washed in the flood of Your mercy… to drink it in… to splash and dance in it. Bring refreshment and healing and boundless love. Let’s do this thing… together.

Responses

  1. Nicely paraphrased. It really brings out the meaning and makes it personal. I pray that as God shows you His grace more and more, you’ll continue to share that with your readers. Thank you.

  2. Thanks, Jim! I pray the same… how are things with your church?


Leave a Reply

Categories

