Posted by: bellissimanh | January 1, 2012

Theme Word for 2012: GRACE.

I used to make a whole mess of resolutions each New Year’s. You know the kind – always typical, rarely met.

Eat better. Exercise more. Create a budget and stick to it. Read the Bible in a year. Etc, etc.

A few years ago, I began a new practice. Instead of making a list of resolutions that realistically, I knew I would probably not keep, I decided to prayerfully choose a theme word for the year.  This word gave me focus for the months ahead… gave me a direction to pursue.  I would look up every instance of the word in Scripture, and read what God had to say about it. I would be intentional about searching out opportunities to practice my word in daily life. And the Lord was faithful to grow me through this process and draw me closer to Himself.

Over the past year, although it wasn’t my word for 2010, the Lord has taught me much about grace. Receiving it. Giving it. Living in it. So when I began to consider words as possible themes for 2012, I didn’t really throw grace into the mix since I felt I had grown so much in that area over the course of 2011. And then I had a discussion with my husband this week that kinda threw a wrench in the works.

On a particular day this week, I had asked God to guide me and help me live out HIS purposes for me, instead of my own agenda. I was excited because He had been faithful to do just that. I had a day full of interruptions, yet my response to those situations was much godlier than on an average day. Instead of being completely frustrated and responding with complaining, I made the best of it and sought out how I could use the circumstances to honor the Lord. I was sharing this with Joel, but not getting the reaction I had expected. I had thought he would think it was as cool as I did, but the expression on his face was just… weird. I said, “Clearly you’re not getting this…”, to which he responded, “No… I get it. It’s just that the tech support guy who wasted your afternoon and the pizza delivery guy who screwed up the order got grace. I got snapped at.” Ouch. OUCH.

Clearly, God’s not done teaching me about grace.  I have reflected back on that conversation several times over the last couple of days, and I have felt the Lord whisper to my heart that He and I are going to journey into a world of grace this year that will be life-changing. I want to experience grace like never before…  to breathe it in and to make it part of me. I want to dive deep into the pool of grace my Father has offered and be completely immersed in it, learning how to receive it for myself, as well as drench others with its life-giving power. So, grace it is.

I have chosen as my theme verse for the year 2 Corinthians 9:8…

“And God is able to make all grace abound toward you, that you, always having all sufficiency in all things, may have an abundance for every good work.”

Here’s to grace… 🙂

Do you have a theme word for 2012? If so, I’d love to for you to share it! Maybe we can encourage each other in our respective themes throughout the year.

Responses

  1. OUCH!!! Oh my, I think Joel may be related to my man. They just speak it like it is. Whew!! And sometimes it is frustrating and just plain hurtful. But, I usually always grow from what my man says. usually…..

    I blogged about my word for 2012….it is ‘excellence’. Now, I’m trusting the Lord to help me walk and minister in excellence.

    Love ya,

  2. One of the blessings that has come from our difficulties over the past couple of years is a new level of honesty. At times it hurts, true, but there’s also something comforting in the ability to be so real with each other… and to know that we have no secrets – of any kind. And typically, he does say exactly what I need to hear… even if I don’t want to hear it.

    “Excellence” – perfect word! 🙂 I keep a small poster up in my office that describes the differences between perfection and excellence. My coworkers love it 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

