Posted by: bellissimanh | August 29, 2011

Honk if You Love Jesus… Kinda ;-)

One of my favorite sounds in the fall is that of the Canadian Geese flying south. They squawk and honk and it’s music to my ears, maybe because it signals the arrival of my favorite season. I don’t know why I love it…. I just know that I do.

Recently I was studying in Ephesians and I came across something interesting. I was digging into chapter four and really tearing apart the first section:

“I, therefore, the prisoner of the Lord, beseech you to walk worthy of the calling with which you were called, with all lowliness and gentleness, with longsuffering, bearing with one another in love, endeavoring to keep the unity of the Spirit and the bond of peace.” (Eph. 4:1-3)

There is so much truth and wisdom packed into these short verses, and I think you’ll be surprised at the word that I’m going to pull out of that section as one that spoke to me in particular. It’s the word “beseech.” It is the Greek word “parakaleo”, and its meaning is to “beg continually”, but not just that… it refers specifically to coming alongside someone else and encouraging them. And then one of my commentaries gave an illustration of what this really looks like. Wouldn’t ya know, my friends the geese have a lesson to teach. J

Migrating geese fly at speeds of 40 to 50 miles per hour. They travel in their special formation because as each bird flaps its wings, it creates an updraft for the bird behind it. The geese can go 70% further in a group than they could if they flew alone.

What an amazing picture of the importance of unity among believers… and our responsibility to come alongside and encourage one another! We have a common purpose. We are propelled by the thrust of others who share the same goals, and we can get a lot further in this Christian work together than we can alone.

When the geese squawk, it’s as if they’re saying to one another, “Stay the course… maintain your speed.” So the question is, who can we honk for today? Who can use a little extra boost? I know that I move on ahead much more easily if there is someone behind me encouraging me to stay on track and keep going.

I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling the urge to break out a box of cards and write out a few doses of encouragement. To pick up the phone and call that girlfriend I know is struggling right now. To send a thank you note to that friend who really ministered to my heart last week.

If you’ll excuse me… I’ve got some honking to do.

Responses

  1. Love your testimony in the profile.

  2. Heather, I have never known anyone like you. You walk the walk. I miss you in my life and am so glad to see a new post by you. I will bet you never knew I followed. I am different in the way I believe and express, but I do love you! I am proud of you, more than you know!

  3. Thank you… both. I don’t know who you are, but I thank God for you, and thank Him for prompting you to infuse a dose of encouragement just when I needed it most. I pray He blesses you abundantly for your honking. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

