Posted by: bellissimanh | May 12, 2011

Walk With Me

I’m coming through what is probably the most difficult season of my life (and if you know anything about my life, that’s saying something!)  During the past year or so I have withdrawn. I have kept to myself. I have convinced myself that I don’t need anyone but the Lord. I’ve even done it in such a way as to sound pious, and convince myself (as if) that it was a GODLY thing to trust in Him alone. And it is… in a way.

Take my memory verse for this week…

“My soul, wait in silence for God only, for my hope is from Him. He only is my rock and my salvation, my stronghold; I shall not be shaken. On God my salvation and my glory rest; the rock of my strength, my refuge is in God. Trust in Him at all times, oh people; Pour our your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us. Selah.” ~Psalm 62:4-8

I read that and I believe it. And it’s true… all of God’s word is absolute truth. But have you ever noticed how we tend to grab hold of something and rather than matching it up against the whole of Scripture, we cling to it and set aside the other truth because we happen to like this one more?

In this season, I have lost countless friends. People have looked at what’s going on in my life and it’s just been too much for them to handle. It’s awkward. And very messy. I get that, I really do. It saddens me, but I do get it. It’s true that when things get rough and push comes to shove, we find out what we’re made of. I’ve learned a lot about myself, as well as the people I had been sharing life with. I’ve been deeply disappointed in some ways and pleasantly surprised in others. It’s funny how God works, and what (who) He uses to shape and mold us into the people He desires for us to be.

Because of how bitterly I have tasted rejection this past year, my mind takes a verse like the one above and hangs on for dear life. The LORD is my Rock… my fortress… my salvation… In Him ALONE I put my trust. Agreed? Wouldn’t it be easy to just give up on people altogether and lean only on the Lord? Seems like a grand alternative to one who is recovering from the sting of slander and spite. I don’t mean that I don’t associate with other believers… just that I won’t let any of them get close enough to hurt me. Or so I think.

Yet how is that reconciled with THIS verse?

“Consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together… but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.” ~Hebrews 10:24-25

As  much as I’d love to depend on God alone and forsake humanity with all it’s flaws for good (and He IS to be my mainstay… the source of my everything), the whole of His Word tells me that He has put us here together for a purpose. Hebrews 10:24 is not an option or a suggestion, it’s a directive. My God, who is my light, my strength and my shield, has told me that living in isolation is not what He desires for me – or any of us. If I shut myself off from those around me, I am ignoring His command to encourage them, and BE encouraged by them. I’m robbing myself of the blessings He has for me, because really, when you get right down to it, I don’t trust HIM to protect me in those relationships.

It’s so trite and cliche.  “Don’t judge a man until you’ve walked in his shoes.” I can’t tell you how many times that phrase has rung through my head this week. I even thought about posting a picture of my Danskos on facebook with the tag line – “Wanna try these on for size?” But this morning, the Lord has shifted my focus. I’m not wanting anyone to walk in my shoes. They’re tattered and torn… worn out and falling apart. And they’re MUDDY. No, I wouldn’t wish these shoes on anyone. What I’m hoping for is someone willing to walk beside me as I trudge out this journey, step by painful step, encouraging me and loving me, in spite of the mess. You don’t have to have the right words… you don’t have to say anything at all; love is a language all it’s own. Just walk with me, and when I stumble, reach down and offer your hand. And maybe a smile. It’s enough.

Responses

  1. Right beside you girl. . .Proudly!

  2. I will walk beside you….

  3. Always, my beautiful cousin, friend, encourager.
    Love you. (((hug)))

  4. Although I am far away, I will be praying/walking with you, Heather. God bless you.

  5. beautiful, my friend… i know this season has been hard, but i am always willing to be here walking beside…. we all have muddy shoes, some just clean off the mud before they see others, others like you are vulnerable enough to let their mud show… be blessed today…..

  6. I love you too, Heather…. I’m praying lots.

  7. Thank you… all. ❤ you.

  8. I love you! And I am walking beside you!…….Papa

  9. I love you! And I am walking beside you!

  10. You have my prayers, and I will walk beside you with a lasting friendship. I hid away myself, but finally the cave gave way and I needed those who were willing to give the encouragement that I had turned from. Hold you head high and grab hold to those who love you, Joel and your family.

  11. Hi Heather-

    I work with GodTube and saw your post! Wanted to encourage you and send a video your way that I thought was great! Be encouraged! Remember no matter what Jesus wants the rose! No matter what you are going through He loves you! http://www.godtube.com/watch/?v=D6YWDGNX

    Lauren

  12. Wow!!
    I appreciate your willingness to be so transparent.
    May you find great continuing solace in your communion with our great God and Savior. And may He enable you to fellowship with others of like persuasion. I will be praying for you.
    In Him,
    Robert Lloyd Russell


Leave a Reply

Categories

