Posted by: bellissimanh | May 7, 2011

Somewhere in the Middle of the Rainbow

Ever had one of those days? The kind where nothing goes like you planned and you find yourself caught up in self-pity and frustration?

Me neither. Yeah, right.

Today was one of those days for me. But I’m convinced that life is 10% what happens to you and 90% attitude, so I decided to grab hold of this and make the best of it:

“I would have lost heart, unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. Wait on the LORD; be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart; Wait, I say, on the LORD!” ~Psalm 27:13-14

I went through the day and was blessed. Got to have lunch with my parents, spend some mother-daughter time shopping with Jas, and also listen to a great message at day 2 of our Missions Conference (you might even see some of that in a blog post soon). All in all, it turned out to be a pretty good day.

On the way home from church tonight the sun was shining, but it was raining. If you know me well, you know that I have a natural bent toward the negative, rather than being an optimist. So I’m driving home thinking, “Well of course I have to be in the MIDDLE of the rainbow, instead of looking at it from a distance. The rainbow is caused by rain and sun mixing… leave it to me to be in the rain instead of admiring the beauty. Doesn’t that just figure?”

Ok… stop lecturing me in your mind. Don’t tell me you’ve never been in that place (seriously – if you’ve never been in that place, DON’T TELL ME.)

But then I got to thinking… it’s when you’re in the middle of the rainbow that You really get to see the Lord’s faithfulness. It can be raining all around you, yet the Son is shining, and while you may not see the pretty colors, it doesn’t mean they’re not there. You just have to keep going… trusting that God is going to use your circumstances to grow you into the person He wants you to be, and to bring glory to Himself. Sure, rainbows are pretty… but they’re just a symbol of what God is doing. The real blessing is when you get to feel your hand in His, walking through the rain… knowing that while the drops fall, He is radiating His goodness all around you. He has plans for you… to give you hope and a future. He is not wasting any of what you’re going through, but is using it to shape you into the image of His Son.

The middle of the rainbow’s not such a bad place to be, eh? Not from that perspective anyway. 🙂

So I turned into my road and what do you think I caught out of the corner of my eye? One of the most beautiful rainbows I’ve ever seen. Not just one… but a DOUBLE rainbow.

And as if that weren’t enough, just as I pulled the car over and put the window down so I could snap a shot, the final chorus of Chris Tomlin’s “I Lift My Hands to You” was ringing from the radio. I could not have crafted a more perfect moment if I TRIED… but the Lover of my soul was thinking of me. It made me smile. And cry. And laugh. And lift my hands.

I lift my hands to believe again
You are my refuge, You are my strength
As I pour out my heart, these things I remember
You are faithful, God
You are faithful, God, forever.

Responses

  1. It really is about attitude, isn’t it? What a beautiful reminder, Heather. Thanks so much. Have a blessed Mother’s Day!

  2. I like this, Heather! Love you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

