Posted by: bellissimanh | May 4, 2011

Tears in a Bottle & Trust

I’ve been convicted lately to get back to Scripture memorization. The verses I chose for this week are particularly dear  to me (Psalm 56:8-11).

One of the things I like to do once I get the verses mostly committed to memory is to pray through them… it helps me to really personalize them and allow them to sink in and truly have an affect on me. Perhaps they’ll speak to you as well.

“You number my wanderings; You put my tears into Your bottle; are they not in Your book?”

Father, there is nothing that happens to me that You do not see. Nothing escapes Your notice… not my circumstances, or my feelings. Each tear I shed drips in the sight of the Lover of my soul, and You record it all. My hurts, my failures, my fears, my heartbreak… You take note of each one, and You take them personally. Thank You for loving me enough to see… to collect my tears… to keep track of little, insignificant me.

“When I cry out to You, then my enemies will turn back. This I know, because God is for me.”

How I love this! You are the God who caused the Red Sea to swallow up the Egyptians as Your children fled for their lives… the God who stopped time for Joshua, making the sun to stand still as You fought for Israel. You are the same yesterday, today and forever, and You are for me. You are for me. You are for me. How I love the sound of that… brand those words upon my heart, Lord. Don’t ever let me forget that You are for me. Always.

“In God (I will praise His Word), in the Lord (I will praise His Word), in God will I put my trust.”

You are the only One worthy of my trust. My hope is found in Your Word. It describes Your character, it reminds me of Your faithful deeds, it instructs me in the way You would have me walk. Act. BE. It teaches me how to deepen our relationship so that I can fully trust You. There is no one else who could take the full weight of my worry… my insecurity… my helpless and desperation. I so often feel like the father of the demon possessed child crying, “Lord, I believe… help my unbelief!” And You are faithful to do just that. How I love You for that.

“I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?”

Ah… and so we come to the crux of it. That’s really it, isn’t it?  Fear. That emotion that should have no dominion over me yet rears its ugly head every chance it gets. You are sovereign. There is nothing that happens to me that is out of Your control, that escapes Your foreknowledge. You reign, over me and over the events of my life. The problem with fear is that it doesn’t concern itself with facts. There doesn’t even need to be a real threat for that feeling of distress to creep into my heart and eat away at my peace, little bit by little bit, until I’m consumed with anxiety and fighting off panic. How foolish of me, Lord. Today I renew my commitment to send fear packing. I will NOT be AFRAID. I will NOT. Compared to eternity, anything man can do to me is a blip on the screen of life. Ultimately, I am Yours alone, and Y0u will orchestrate all of my days. Help me to live in light of eternity, and to keep my gaze on You, instead of my circumstances. You’re so much more beautiful. I love You.

What are you memorizing? How is the Lord using it to shift your focus? To realign Your will with His? To challenge and convict? I’d love to hear what He’s teaching you. 🙂

Responses

  1. Hello my friend,

    This tears in a bottle verse was the focal verse at a retreat where I spoke recently. The organizers gave everyone a glass jar filled with clear marbles to symbolize our tears that God collects in a jar. It was so special and meaningful.

    In 2011 all my memory verses pertain to GRACE. Wow!! What a marvelous thing to think on all year.

    Blessings to you

  2. Leah… I love that! Been trying to grow in grace over the past several months. Still a long way to go, but I love that He is faithful to complete the work begun in me… now to follow Him a little more closely. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

