Posted by: bellissimanh | January 17, 2011

Miracles in the Mundane

The internet is an amazing place. I have developed so many rich relationships, all of which have added immensely to my life. I have had the privilege of meeting some of these precious women in person. Others, not yet. Perhaps we won’t meet in person this side of heaven… but it doesn’t make those relationships any less dear, or the encouragement and spiritual mentoring any less treasured.

A couple of weeks ago, one of my online friends and I were discussing the desire of my heart to see my children walk in the truth… and how much joy it brings to know that they’re  seeking the Lord. Joanne shared with me a devotional guide that she and her sisters had received for Christmas from their mom. They were all reading it together, and then able to share with each other and stay connected across the miles as they listened to God together. Her enthusiasm was so great that I immediately ordered three of the devotionals, one for me, and one for each of my girls.

The box with the journals came last week. By the time it arrived on the doorstep, my friend was lying in a Colorado hospital, having suffered a massive stroke. She’s a 38-year-old wife and mother, a gifted author, a seminary student, an amazing woman seeking after the heart of God with everything she’s got. How quickly life can change. In an instant, life as we know it can be completely altered and take a path so different from the one we were on.

I don’t know why the Lord has allowed this trial into my friend’s life. All I can do is cling to the promise that He has a plan, and that He’s working things out for Joanne’s good, and for His glory. I can see it already…

  • Her family is leaning their full weight upon the Lord, and God is glorified.
  • Even in her coma, Joanne is affecting the lives of so many – causing them to pray, to love, to believe, and God is glorified.
  • The family of Christ is brought together as they intercede on behalf of this beautiful child of God, and God is glorified.

The Heim family has not left my thoughts or prayers since Tuesday. I pray that they will continue to be in yours. There’s a button in my sidebar that will take you to Joanne’s blog. There you will find specific ways to pray, as well as specific (more tangible) ways you can help. Please, whatever you do, continue to pray for Joanne and her family.

My girls and I are beginning the journal, “Jesus Calling” today. The entry for January 17th couldn’t be more perfect:

Come to Me with a thankful heart, so that you can enjoy My Presence. This is the day that I have made. I want you to rejoice in today, refusing to worry about tomorrow. Search for all that I have prepared for you, anticipating abundant blessings and accepting difficulties as they come. I can weave miracles into the most mundane day if you keep your focus on Me.

Come to Me with all your needs, knowing that My glorious riches are a more-than-adequate supply. Stay in continual communication with Me, so that you can live above your circumstances even while you are in the midst of them. Present your requests to Me with thanksgiving, and My Peace, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your heart and mind.

(Psalm 118:24, Philippians 4:19, 6-7)

*******************************************

UPDATE: Joanne’s cranial pressure has gone from 37 to 4! This is a VERY good thing! Continuing to pray…

Responses

  1. Praying as well for Joanne. We are FB friends and blog friends, but for some reason never interacted much. I have found it interesting to hear about the Jesus Calling devotional book because I randomly ran across the kid version at our local Christian bookstore before Christmas and as soon as we started it with the kids LOVED it. And then when I figured out that it has an adult counterpart, I was so excited. I have yet to order one, but I am planning to. I am thinking a birthday present for myself! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

