Posted by: bellissimanh | December 4, 2010

You want me to do WHAT?

“After they were gone [the wise men], an angel of the Lord suddenly appeared to Joseph in a dream, saying, ‘Get up! Take the child and His mother, flee to Egypt, and stay there until I tell you. For Herod is about to search for the child, to destroy Him.’ So he got up, took the child and His mother during the night, and escaped to Egypt. He stayed there until Herod’s death, so that what was spoken by the Lord through the prophet might be fulfilled: Out of Egypt I called My Son.” (Matthew 2:13-15)

A couple of years ago I did an in depth study of the book of Genesis. One of the things that I noticed over and over was that the Lord warned His people against going to Egypt. Isaac was told not to go there (Gen. 26), the Israelites were commanded through the prophet Jeremiah to avoid Egypt (Jeremiah 42), and it was put in no uncertain terms by Isaiah, “Woe to those who go down to Egypt for help…” (Isaiah 31:1). The main premise is that the people were trusting in Egypt and its strength, rather than in the Lord their God.

I don’t know about you, but if I were Joseph, and I had a dream in which an angel of the Lord told me to head for the one place my people had been cautioned to avoid, I’d be confused, to say the least. I’d question whether the dream I had was real. I’d second guess myself and wonder if I’d heard correctly… I’d be baffled by the contradiction and try to figure it out. That’s just me.

But not Joseph. He obeyed. He took the direction given and obeyed.

There have been many times in my life when my finite mind has been unable to grasp the ways of my incomprehensible God. He has asked things of me that don’t seem to make sense. In those times, I have often whined, cried, pouted… even thrown fits. But slowly (and some days are WAY easier than others), I’m learning to trust. To obey.

“’For My thoughts are not your thoughts, and your ways are not My ways,’ declares the LORD. ‘For as Heaven is higher than the earth, so My ways are higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts.’” (Isaiah 55:8-9)

Everything I need to know about my God has been spelled out in the pages of His Word. He reveals Himself to me through this love letter, and through the power of the Holy Spirit. Yet there are times when He does things (allows things?) that don’t seem to make sense to me. I’m discovering that the key to surviving these times is drawing closer to Him. As I seek out deeper relationship with Him, and I come to know Him better, I trust Him more. My heart becomes softer… something more pliable and less resistant to change. I want to know His voice so well that even when it’s asking me to do something that seems in stark contrast to what I thought He was doing in my life… instead of questioning, I will obey.

I know that He loves me. I know that He knows best. I know that He is FOR me and has a unique and beautiful plan for my life. I praise Him for the growth He has worked in me this year, and I thank Him for being a patient and loving Father with this selfish (and often willful) child. I am amazed at the way He is transforming me into the image of His Son. I’m grateful for what He’s done, and grateful that He isn’t finished yet.

 The canvas of my life is being filled with His brushstrokes… of conviction, of challenge, of grace, of mercy, of tenderness and love. Beautiful splashes of color on the fabric of my soul. I love Him so!

 

 

Responses

  1. Where did you get the sign? That about fits me … quite well, in fact. I guess I need to take hold of your advice…. 🙂

  2. I googled “confused”… LOL!

  3. I sooo get this……”But slowly (and some days are WAY easier than others), I’m learning to trust. To obey.”

    Just last week, as I was fretting and stewing about something, the Lord spoke quietly into my heart and said, “Just trust and wait.” Lord, have mercy, is that ever hard for me. But, I am learning.

    Great post, Heather.

    Leah

  4. Wow, I have been learning the exact same thing lately, Heather! Love this post. I have had the very same observations as well about drawing closer to Him and finding myself trusting more. I just wish I could trust better, but that is a process I guess!

  5. Hiya, thank you for sharing. I am glad to know that I am not the only one to wonder what I should do and did I understand it right or not..this can be so….puzzling. Have a blessed New Year. Nicky


Leave a Reply

Categories

