Posted by: bellissimanh | November 10, 2010

I Feel Pretty

I love pleasant surprises, don’t you?

Joel stopped by the office today, which isn’t all that unusual since he’s the IT guy for the insurance company where I work. He stopped by my desk on his way in for a quick kiss and hello (also not unusual). He then told me I looked nice. Again, nothing out of the ordinary there (that he would say so). I said, “Fallish?”, which is what I had heard from several coworkers already (a rusty plaid jacket will prompt those kinds of comments). Now here’s the unusual part.

He said, “No… I was thinking ‘pretty.’”

Pretty.

I so didn’t see that coming. Put together? The earrings matched the necklace, so sure. Color co-ordinated? Most definitely. But pretty? Not what I was expecting at all.

I smiled, thanked him and we both got back to work, but his comment rolled around in my mind all afternoon. My thoughts kept returning to those words, and each time, they brought a smile to my lips and a lightness to my spirit. It was such a small thing, yet it determined the course of my entire day.

That exchange reminded me how much power we can wield with our tongues. We can speak love and life to people, or we can use our words to sow seeds of discouragement… or worse. Proverbs 18:21 tells us that the tongue has the power of life and death. That’s some serious power.

And then there’s this:

“Likewise, the tongue is a small part of the body, but it makes great boasts. Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark.” (James 3:5)

And this:

“Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.” (Proverbs 12:18)

I spent the afternoon examining my heart and thinking about what I’m communicating to the people around me. Am I an encourager, or does my attitude frustrate people? Am I quick to praise others, or quicker to point out their faults? Am I speaking beautiful things to my children or are they the recipients of negativity, depending on my mood?

I don’t know about you, but I want my words to bring healing. I want them to be an instrument of life. I want to use them to BLESS and HONOR. I want to inspire others to be the best they can be… to realize anew that with God, all things are possible, and to let them know I’m rooting for them… and praying for them. I want to pour the love of Jesus into their hearts.

And if they walk away feeling stronger, or appreciated, or even pretty? That’s a really cool thing.

Responses

  1. Heather, you are not only pretty but beautiful.
    Your beauty comes from within. I see Jesus in you when we meet. I know some days of late have not been the best. But I still see Him.and the beauty He has given you .

    Love Nana

  2. I love you, Nana. Truly. And Jesus sure looks good on you, too! 🙂

  3. Amen to that! such a good reminder that everyone needs once in a while.


Leave a Reply

Categories

