Posted by: bellissimanh | October 29, 2010

In the Crucible

“He shall sit as a refiner and purifier of silver.” ~Malachi 3:3

I’ve been working my way through Streams in the Desert with a friend. This devotional book compiled by Mrs. Charles E. Cowman has been an incredible source of encouragement and comfort to me over the past several months. If you’ve never read it, do yourself a blessing and get your hands on a copy.  You’ll thank me later (that is, if you can stop thanking GOD long enough *s*).

If you’ve known me for very long, you’ll know that the theme of the Refiner’s Fire is something I have always been drawn to, so it won’t surprise you to hear that this morning, these words were a balm to my soul:

“Our Father, who seeks to perfect His saints in holiness, knows the value of the refiner’s fire. It is with the most precious metals that the assayer takes the most pains, and subjects them to the hot fire, because such fires melt the metal, and only the molten mass releases its alloy or takes perfectly its new form in the mould. The old refiner never leaves his crucible, but sits down by it, lest there should be one excessive degree of heat to mar the metal. But as soon as he skims from the surface the last of the dross, and sees his own face reflected, he puts out the fire.” ~Arthur T. Pierson

Here’s the line that got me:

“The old refiner never leaves his crucible, but sits down by it…”

The past year has brought me yet another fire. I would say it threatened to consume me, but as I think about it, I realize that my faith has been strong enough that I knew I wouldn’t be consumed. I’m grateful for that! As I walked through this one, I knew that as hot as the fire was (and it was scorching), it would NOT destroy me. I knew that “EVEN IF…” my worst fears were realized, my God would lovingly hold me in the palm of His hand (where my name is engraved, by the way!) and that I would survive.

But today, I’m thanking Him for not just seeing me through, but for never leaving my side… not for an instant. He doesn’t just set a timer and walk away… returning when the buzzer dings to remove me from the oven. No — He sits beside me, sovereign over all that concerns me, ensuring that the temperature is exactly what is necessary, and that I am not in the crucible a moment longer than is necessary.

I pray that as He looks at me, having been purged and purified by this latest trial, He can see His reflection. I so want to look like my Jesus.

Responses

  1. You have NO IDEA how this spoke to me:

    I knew that “EVEN IF…” my worst fears were realized, my God would lovingly hold me in the palm of His hand (where my name is engraved, by the way!) and that I would survive.

    I really needed to hear it. Thanks so much.

    Leah

  2. Not only does He have us in His loving gentle hands.
    There are days He holds us tightly, very tightly.

  3. Praise God! He is so wonderful and gets us through everything, I am so grateful for such a loving, caring and merciful God!

  4. this was a blessing to read. i just found your blog today heather… it is beautiful and so touching….


Leave a Reply

Categories

