Posted by: bellissimanh | October 21, 2010

Don’t Drive Through

Some things are just better the second day. Lasagna. Shepherd’s Pie. Chili.

 

Why is that?

 

Over time, the flavors mingle and harsher tones mellow. The spices all meld together and produce a harmonious savory blend. Maybe some of the liquid in the dish evaporates a little, intensifying the flavor. Maybe it just tastes better the next day because the work is done and all you have to do is reheat it (that’s my belief – LOL).

 Whatever the reason, some foods just seem to be better the next day.

 

I think the same thing can be said of our spiritual diet. There are plenty of ways to find “drive-through” Scripture. Our local Christian radio station’s “Verse of the day”, the brief email devotion we receive each morning, perusing tweets and facebook posts of fellow believers… all of these are ways that we take little bites from the Word every day. There’s nothing wrong with them. Actually, I’m very thankful that these things are available to me.  They help me keep my mind fixed on my Lord, especially considering all the other garbage that’s paraded before my eyes and ears each day… but there’s something to be said for concentrated time alone with Jesus and His love letter to me.

 

In the quiet, I can take time to drink in the words of life He has for me. When I truly slow down, everything finds clarity. I hear His voice more clearly. Careful examination of my heart brings specific sin to light. I am reassured of His love for me – the FACT of it – in spite of what my emotions might tell me. He impresses His truth upon my heart and I’m able to not just hear it, and nod politely in agreement… but to let it sink in and permeate every fiber of my being. As the Truth settles in my heart, I am changed. 

“Jesus replied: ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your MIND.” (Matthew 22:27) 

“Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel fo the ungodly, nor stands in the path of sinners, nor sits in the seat of the scornful; but his delight is in the law of the LORD, and in His law he meditates day and night.” (Psalm 1:1-2)

 

And the best part? I remember it. The next day. I’m learning that some most times a truth needs time to settle over me before I fully realize the impact it has on my life. As I allow Him to use His Word to renew my mind and transform me, the things He speaks in the quiet become so much a part of me that they are no longer clever sound bites or simple memory verses – they are light and life… and they only get better with time.

Responses

  1. I think slowing down is the hardest thing that I am commanded to do. BE STILL! I have a concentrated quiet time each morning with the Lord and am able to be still during that…for the most part. But the rest of the day, I don’t slow down for much. That really needs to change. It really does and I’m the only one who can do it. Thanks for the reminder.

    Leah


Leave a Reply

Categories

