Posted by: bellissimanh | October 18, 2010

EVEN IF…

Something we learned in our Esther study this week has been running through my mind. It won’t leave (and I’m glad!) I’m paraphrasing, but it went something like this:

Trusting that God is in control and will work your situation out in a positive manner is not courage. Courage is believing that even if your worst fears DO come to pass, God is still good. He’s still faithful. He still loves you and will still take care of you. It’s being able to say, “Lord, You know what’s best. My heart would love for You to keep this from happening, but even if it does, I know You’ll be with me.”

When we studied Daniel, one of the things that I will always remember is those men saying, “If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to save us from it, and he will rescue us from your hand, O king. But EVEN IF HE DOES NOT, we want you to know, O king, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up.” (Daniel 3:17-18) Now that’s some believing!

How I want to have faith like that! I mean… some days I think I do, and in theory I believe all of this, but when fear threatens to suffocate me, I know that I’m not trusting. Gradually my perspective is shifting… I’m trusting more… I’m fearing less. I’m so thankful that He never gives up on me, and that He loves me in spite of my fickleness.

Father, help me to trust You completely. Keep my eyes fixed on You, instead of my circumstances. I vow to You today, Lord, that I believe even if You allow my worst fears to be realized, You are still good. You are still faithful. I know that You love me and will take care of me. That’s just who You are. I choose to believe You for that today… to rest in Your faithfulness and to proclaim Your goodness to the world around me. Let me be a light for You in this dark world. Let people see me, in the midst of my struggles, and say “She’s in a world of hurt right now, but look at how she loves her God! What’s with that?” And give me the words to express to them the reason for the hope I have… Jesus. I love You, Lord. You deserve so much more than what I have to offer, but I’m grateful that You not only accept it… You receive it as a living sacrifice. Strengthen me according to Your Word. Fill my heart with compassion and tender me with Your love. Use me, Lord. You are worthy.

Responses

  1. Great thoughts! I read this verse in Hebrews this morn:

    Hebrews 12:2 Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

    May we get into the place where the 3 Hebrew children where at in Faith.

  2. Amen, Ernie… make it so in my life, Lord! Give Sarah a HUGE hug from me (gentle) and kiss Nina. So happy for you guys! Blessings!

  3. YOu know, just when I think I’ve made strides on increasing my faith, I falter. Some days it feels like two steps forward and ten steps back. Perhaps that is what keeps me so desperately dependant on God. Great post, my friend.

    Leah

  4. […] that as hot as the fire was (and it was scorching), it would NOT destroy me. I knew that “EVEN IF…” my worst fears were realized, my God would lovingly hold me in the palm of His hand (where […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

