Posted by: bellissimanh | October 7, 2010

Blame it on the Rain

It’s been rainy here this week. I don’t mind it, really. I love curling up with a good book and a cup of tea while the raindrops splash again the window. And let’s face it – being stuck in an office all day is much more enjoyable when the weather isn’t perfectly beautiful. 😉

I planted some sprigs along our walkway this spring that a friend gave to me. The plant is a mossy green ground cover with these little purple flowers. It’s pretty in an understated kind of way… but there’s something special about it too. It seems to flourish in the rain. The flowers just seem to pop when it’s dreary… as if they’re drinking in the moisture as it falls to the ground and somehow it floods them with renewed life and vibrancy. In the heat, these same flowers seem to dull and wilt, but with the rain – they shine.

Yesterday I found myself desperately wanting to be like these beauties. I want to bloom brightly in the rain. When storms blow into my life, I want others to look at me and be blown away by my ability to not just survive, but thrive. I want Jesus in me to be so brilliant that people wonder, “How can she be so peaceful considering what’s going on in her life?”

Yet I come to the end of THIS day and know I have failed miserably.  No one is staring at me in amazement, marveling over how strong I can be in the face of adversity. Quite the contrary, were someone to take a look at me tonight they would see a trembling, fear-filled, fighting-the-urge-to-reach-for-Xanax mess . But I refuse to give up. The enemy of my soul would have me believe that I can’t be that example of a woman leaning her full weight upon her God, that I’ve missed my opportunity… but I won’t buy into the lie. Tomorrow is another day.

“The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases, his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is thy faithfulness. ‘The LORD is my portion,’ says my soul, ‘therefore I will hope in him.’” (Lamentations 3:22-24)

HE is my portion. HE is my hope. HE is my strength. HE is my deliverer. HE is my refuge. HE is my SONG.

It’s not about me at all. The idea is to make much of HIM. To display HIS glory. And He does that best through broken vessels, so weak as I am — it IS possible. And though Satan would have me focus on failure, the Spirit reminds me that there have been times of great victory in my life – times when I have bloomed in the midst of the storm. And there will be more… because:

“But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.” (2 Cor. 4:7-9)

“But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” (2 Cor. 12:9)

Here’s to a fresh start… Jesus, bring the rain! 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Thanks for this. I, too, want to shine when it is raining. Anyone can look good when the weather is perfect. However, it takes a certain kind of faith to bloom when the air is cold and the light is fading.

    Blessings,

    Jim

  2. You’re right friend…. His mercies are new every morning – today is a new, beautiful day!! I love you! (And Jesus loves you more than I do)

  3. I like you blog!
    I will suggest you a website:

    htto://www.biblebox.com

    Have a great day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

