Posted by: bellissimanh | September 12, 2010

Joy Unspeakable

I have two miniature rose bushes in my front garden. About halfway through the summer, all of the blooms had withered and the plants looked… well… tired. They were kind of droopy, and with no flowers they really looked pretty sad. I figured their season was done, and I was grateful for the season in which they did provide beauty and delight.

We came home from vacation a couple of weeks ago and I was thrilled to find them covered with buds! I’m not sure what happened during our time away (maybe it was all that RAIN), but the plants seemed to take on new life. They were thriving. 

This past year has been the most challenging of my life. There have been times rejoicing, but also times of desolation. For one period I was elated by the things God was doing in my life, my marriage, my own heart… and then came a period of dryness that left me feeling so parched I could feel the landscape of my soul cracking. For months, there was barely any fruit and I felt completely spent… useless… wasted.

And then the Lord sent His rain. He drenched me in His Spirit and filled me with fresh wonder at the work He was doing in me. He cut away dead branches that needed pruning. He breathed new life into my weary frame and allowed me to feel His passionate pursuit of me. It meant facing my shortcomings. It meant daring to look at the ugliness that taken up residency within me. It meant learning to forgive in a measure that I had never known before. It meant entering a new level of trusting in His sovereignty.

As the roots of my heart sink deeper into the soil of His truth, and I take time to truly meditate on Him… commune with Him… He is restoring the beauty and delight. Little by little, His refreshing has watered the garden of my heart and produced a joy that is unexplainable apart from His grace. I’m thriving.  Joy unspeakable. 

“You love Him, though you have not seen Him. And though not seeing Him now, you believe in Him and rejoice with inexpressible and glorious joy,  because you are receiving the goal of your faith, the salvation of your souls.” (1 Peter 1:8-9)

Responses

  1. What a wonderful post! So often in life we don’t want rain – we want sunshine all the time. However, in the storms of life we receive the rain we need just as your roses did. Thanks for sharing this one!


Leave a Reply

Categories

