Posted by: bellissimanh | September 11, 2010

Pitchfork vs. Shovel

Today was workday. Not at the office, but at the church. 🙂 One of the tasks that needed to be accomplished involved the playground. A bunch of sand needed to be removed so that fresh mulch could be put in… to bring it up to state standards (a daycare center operates on the property).

The sun was hot… but the fellowship was cool.  I enjoyed listening to the good natured ribbing that took place and seeing everyone work – and work hard – but doing it with genuine smiles. The job took less time than I anticipated it would, but that’s the way things go when God’s people work together. 🙂 It was good to get to know people in a different way than you can during the “meet & greet” time at worship on Sundays.

My job was moving the mulch from the big pile over to the playground with a wheelbarrow (tough, I know). D would load up the wheelbarrow and then I’d take it over and dump it. I noticed that D was using a pitchfork (actually, someone said it was a cow poop fork or some such thing… but what do I know? LOL) instead of one of the dozen shovels laying around. Curious.

At one point, I picked up a shovel and started to fill the barrow. I grunted as the shovel hit the mulch chips – and STOPPED. It didn’t slide into the pile like I thought it would, and it took a ton of effort to move that mulch to the barrow. When D finally took a break to get a drink, I lifted his pitchfork and sank it into the mulch. I was amazed to find it slide easily among the wood chips and masterfully maneuver the stuff into the barrow. This was SO much easier than the shovel (which is not to say that D didn’t work his butt off!)

D came back and commented, “That shovel’s good for scraping up the loose stuff around the edges of the pile, but it isn’t very good when it comes to moving mulch.

I gratefully let him take over again and thought about how in a way, that parallels our spiritual life. God has given us an amazing tool in His Word. It is good for “teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness. Sharper than any two-edged sword, it penetrates, even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.” That’s some tool!

The Word is the right tool for modeling my life after my Savior’s. It’s the place I run to when I need encouragement, yet at the same time, it also brings holy conviction. I would be lost without it.

Commentaries and other books have their place, and Christian brothers and sisters are a wonderful source of strength and encouragement… and even conviction at times… but if I were to try to rely on those things as my sole source of life, I would be in a world of hurt. It is the Word that gives life. “The law of the Lord is perfect, reviving the soul.” As I allow God’s Word to penetrate my heart and I meditate on the Truth, He gently chips away at the things in me that need to die, and He breathes life into the things that should be. I’m so grateful for His touch and His Word… His love letter to me.

It’s the sharpest tool in the shed. 🙂

Responses

  1. Heather – this is SOOOOOOOO well written. WHAT A GREAT ANALOGY!

    I have missed you. THANKS for reminding that we all use the WORD to work together, too. And we are building the KINGDOM according to GOD’s Standards for our CHILDREN who come after us as well.
    🙂

  2. Now, that’ll preach my friend. what an awesome post!! I’m so glad that you are back on posting again. Hope your man is doing well.

    Welcome to country life….

    Leah

  3. Thanks, girls! Joel was declared cancer free a month ago. God isSO good! Thanks for asking, Leah!

  4. […] Pitchfork vs. Shovel « A Woman’s Worth…Sep 11, 2010 … When D finally took a break to get a drink, I lifted his pitchfork and sank it into the mulch. I was amazed to find it slide easily among the wood … […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

