Posted by: bellissimanh | July 28, 2010

Are You in the Big Fish?

“Now the LORD had prepared a great fish to swallow Jonah. And Jonah was in the belly of the fish three days and three nights.” (Jonah 1:17)

My guess is that Jonah never envisioned this fish as his deliverance. More likely, he saw it as punishment. I could be wrong in that, but placing myself in his shoes… I’d be thinking that getting swallowed by a big fish would be it for me. In reality, the fish was Jonah’s salvation. It kept him from drowning. It brought him to his knees. It took him to a place where the Lord could use him. 

I can’t help but think of my own life, and current season. I’m learning that what I consider to be trials… or some kind of perceived “punishment” (whether deserved or not), have become, in a sense, salvation. I have gone from viewing my circumstances as a negative thing… something to be waited out… to seeing them as a gift. I’m recognizing that the Lord has me exactly where He wants me for now, and that He has brought me to a place that takes my focus off of myself and those around me, and places it squarely on the face of my Savior, freeing me to worship Him with abandon. And there’s no place I’d rather be than in the center of His will for me. Thank You, Lord!

Responses

  1. I agree, I also thought about how God forced Jonah to come away from his regular schedule, for about a week…a vacation time and during that time Jonah was alone with God.

    Sometimes all of us need to just get away and focus on God.

  2. Your last comment caught my attention. “There’s no place I’d rather be than in the center of His will for me.”
    That is at the heart of Jonah’s problem! He knew God’s will for him and he chose his own will over God’s will. God eventually had his way with Jonah but Jonah had some growing to do before God could use him mightily for Ninevah’s sake.


Leave a Reply

Categories

