Posted by: bellissimanh | April 22, 2010

Don’t Worry — Be Happy!

“Do not fret because of evildoers, nor be envious of workers of iniquity. For they shall soon be cut down like the grass, and wither as the green herb. Trust in the LORD and do good; dwell in the land, and feed on His faithfulness. Delight yourself also in the LORD, and He shall give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the LORD, trust also in Him, and He shall bring it to pass. He shall bring forth your righteousness as the light, and your justice as the noonday. Rest in the LORD, and wait patiently for Him; do not fret because of him who prospers in his way, because of the man who brings wicked schemes to pass. Cease from anger, and forsake wrath; do not fret – it only causes harm.” (Psalm 37:1-8)

Earlier this week, the following question was posed to me: “If God asked you to ‘die’ to an attitude or action, what would it be?” My answer? The need to be vindicated. That’s the thing that gets in the way of my being able to extend mercy to others. I so desire to be godly… to be a woman after His heart – one who pursues righteousness passionately. Yet my flesh raises up all kinds of excuses and justifications for not being a grace-dispenser. At the root of it all, I’m discovering (at least at this point in my life), is a desire to be vindicated. The dictionary defines vindicate as: to clear, as from an accusation, imputation, suspicion, or the like; to afford justification for; and to assert, maintain, or defend against opposition.

In the Christian life, we will come up against much opposition. “Satan is all about undermining your life and plans, especially when they involve the glory of God” (Angela Thomas). It can leave us (or maybe it’s just me?) feeling victimized, full of self-pity and longing to see our version of “justice” served.

David certainly knew what this felt like. He pleaded with the Lord countless times to deliver him from his enemies and bring them to ruin. Check out Psalm 40:13-15… yet this seeking sinner also penned the words from Psalm 37 above. David had learned that the key is in trusting God, not only to take care of things, but to know what is BEST. He turned his focus from fretting over the foe to delighting in the Deliverer.

That’s where the Lord has me today. He can (and will) take care of those who set themselves up against me. He sees everything (even the stuff that escapes MY attention) and He will attend to it, for His name’s sake. It’s not my job to worry about how, or when, or even if. THIS is my responsibility:

  • To trust Him and do good.
  • To live right where He has me and feed on His faithfulness
  • To delight myself in Him
  • To commit my way to Him
  • To rest in Him & be patient
  • To cease from anger, and forsake wrath (ouch!)

It’s my job to be merciful. It’s my job to be loving enough to not jeer at the downfall of those who oppose me, but to pray for them, and to be gracious. It’s my job to delight myself in the Lord of my life who has rescued ME from the miry pit and set my feet upon a rock. There is JOY in that!

Responses

  1. Amen. Thanks for sharing this today, Heather! Good reminder and encouragement.


Leave a Reply

Categories

