Posted by: bellissimanh | April 20, 2010

Heart Transplant

“And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. And I will put my Spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes and be careful to obey my rules.” (Ezekiel 36:26-17)

My dad called Joel with this verse a few weeks ago. Within days, it was the theme verse for one of the daily devotionals we read together… so it bears some meditation. J Seven months ago, the Lord gave my husband a heart transplant. He took his heart of stone and replaced it with a heart of flesh… one sensitive and tender to the Lord. This heart transplant completely changed my husband. It brought him new life. As the Lord exchanged those hearts, He breathed His Holy Spirit into my best friend and equipped Him to walk in His statutes with a power he had never known before.

I can’t tell you how many times since that day I have wept tears of joy over the difference this new heart has made in my husband. My children noticed… and wanted to know what the heck happened, because Joel was such a different person. They were amazed. How grateful I am for the way the Lord has worked in his life. I’m blown away by the lavish love of God, and the incredible things that has meant, not just for my husband, but for all of us who love him as well. That’s the way God works… He may do something for one person, but it will always spill out onto others, with the ultimate goal being His own glory, and oh how He deserves it!

Anyone who has walked through heart surgery with another (or experienced it themselves) knows that it’s not a process to be taken lightly, or an easy one. I remember all too well the fear that seized me as Joel lay in a bed at Maine Medical Center, awaiting angioplasty. Any time the heart is involved, it’s serious business. The same is true with spiritual surgery. The process is most often not fun. We have been through some intense struggles over the last seven months, and are still walking through some of it… but the Lord is faithful, and He is Jehovah Rapha, the God who heals. Any difficulty that has come as a result of this heart transplant is worth it… because the new life that it has brought is greater than anything I could have imagined. EVERYTHING is different, and I am so overjoyed!

Have you had a heart transplant yet? It will change your life!

Responses

  1. You always have such wisdom and depth when you sit and share what God is showing you. I love the thought of “Spiritual Surgery” as Kay Arthur says, our heart is our command center.

    Lovingly,
    Yolanda

  2. What a wonderful post! And such a blessing for all of you!

  3. I was just thinking yesterday about the change in both of you – it is so sweet!! I love it – it is very precious to me because of how we can see God and his sweetness in you both. 🙂

  4. I am rejoicing with you. What a wonderful thing to behold the change that the Lord has made in your man.

    So glad to see you back on here. Missed you.

    leah


Leave a Reply

Categories

