Posted by: bellissimanh | January 23, 2010

Treasuring Up

 

esv_coffee.jpg Bible & Coffee image by wazoo75

Sun streams through the window and warms my arm as I prepare to enter the “sanctuary”. It splays its light across the worn pages of my Bible. Hot tea (Earl Grey Creme) warms my physical body. The Word lights a fire in my soul, warming my insides. This is comforting… this time. This place. I have no idea what this day will bring, yet somehow I know that as I look back on it, this will have been my favorite moment… this snapshot of time in which my Lord and I meet, just the two of us.

I pour my heart out to Him in prayer. I pray for the obvious… for my friends Bob & Alyce, both recovering from complicated surgeries. For my friend Etty and her ruptured disk. For my friend Candy to be strengthened as she faces the challenges of raising a son with Aspergers. For the family of my beloved Ed, who passed away a couple of weeks ago. For the Lord’s leading as our church searches for a senior pastor. For my children to grow to love my Savior as much as I do.

But I also offer Him the other things… things that are deeply personal. I share with Him the most intense longings of my heart. I come before Him vulnerable, holding nothing back… completely exposed before the One who knows me better than I know myself. I bring Him my questions. My fears. My feelings of inadequacy. My unabashed praise for not just what He’s done in my life, but for Who He is. Omnipotent Father. Faithful Friend. Everlasting God. Kinsman Redeemer. Prince of Peace. Sovereign Lord. LORD.

And then He pours out His heart to me… through His Word. Today He refreshes my Spirit with reminders of His love for me by walking me through a different perspective on His plan of redemption (Luke 2:22-35).

22 Now when the days of her purification according to the law of Moses were completed, they brought Him to Jerusalem to present Him to the Lord 23 (as it is written in the law of the Lord, “Every male who opens the womb shall be called holy to the LORD”),[f] 24 and to offer a sacrifice according to what is said in the law of the Lord, “A pair of turtledoves or two young pigeons.”[g]

   
25 And behold, there was a man in Jerusalem whose name was Simeon, and this man was just and devout, waiting for the Consolation of Israel, and the Holy Spirit was upon him. 26 And it had been revealed to him by the Holy Spirit that he would not see death before he had seen the Lord’s Christ. 27 So he came by the Spirit into the temple. And when the parents brought in the Child Jesus, to do for Him according to the custom of the law, 28 he took Him up in his arms and blessed God and said:
       29 “ Lord, now You are letting Your servant depart in peace,
      According to Your word;
       30 For my eyes have seen Your salvation
       31 Which You have prepared before the face of all peoples,
       32 A light to bring revelation to the Gentiles,
      And the glory of Your people Israel.”

33 And Joseph and His mother[h] marveled at those things which were spoken of Him. 34 Then Simeon blessed them, and said to Mary His mother, “Behold, this Child is destined for the fall and rising of many in Israel, and for a sign which will be spoken against 35 (yes, a sword will pierce through your own soul also), that the thoughts of many hearts may be revealed.” 22 Now when the days of her purification according to the law of Moses were completed, they brought Him to Jerusalem to present Him to the Lord 23 (as it is written in the law of the Lord, “Every male who opens the womb shall be called holy to the LORD”),[f] 24 and to offer a sacrifice according to what is said in the law of the Lord, “A pair of turtledoves or two young pigeons.”[g]  

How is it that I never realized this before? That when Mary and Joseph presented Jesus in the temple alongside those two turtledoves, they were actually “buying back” their Son (Ex. 13:11-16)?  As Mary held that squirming infant in her arms, she presented to the Lord the One who had come to redeem all who would believe, that He might present them to the Father, holy and without blame.

I’m filled with questions. Did she know? When Simeon told her that a sword would pierce her own soul, was she gripped with panic? As she rejoiced in her baby — her Lord — did she realize what this prophesied redemption would look like?

I’m filled with praise and overwhelmed by His deep love for mankind… for Me. The price He paid to buy me back so far surpasses that of a pair of turtledoves. The blood shed for me was so much purer… so much more precious, and that was for ME. Not for the sinless babe who was the express image of the Heavenly Father, but for me, wretched as I am. How I am confounded by His grace! Mystified by His love. I will never get over it.

Just as Mary collected all of her precious moments with the Savior and treasured them up in her heart, I too gather up my memories of our time together this morning and store them up, meditating on the treasure of Christ. He is my everything.

Responses

  1. Thank you Heather. I’ve been thinking about treasuring these past couple days. Just to gather up and ponder more and more what he has done for me. And that all those thoughts will turn my eyes more and more to Him. I need to put the obvious, but most precious down… Him redeeming me!!

  2. Heather,

    I, too, treasure my times with Him. When I am walking for exercise and He walks with me, listeningto my prayers. I love it when He speaks to me through His Word or another person or especially through a song. Goodness, it amazes me that He desires a relationship with ME.

    Leah

  3. Those sweet times of being in His presence as well as in His word where you come away with a whole new fresh awareness, is simply delightful. It’s like I can’t find the correct word to express my own heart in this, but it is delicious and savory.

    Lovingly,
    Yolanda

  4. Thank you. I enjoy your writings and thoughts.

  5. I love your heart, Heather. Your faith has always been an inspiration to me!

  6. Thank you for all the sharing that you do that helps me in my path. I am noticing how many things I have been doing that I thought nothing of and now they bother me, simple things like T.V. shows. Thank you again, Jen


Leave a Reply

Categories

