Posted by: bellissimanh | January 5, 2010

Snow White (no dwarfs)

We got a fresh blanket of snow a week or so ago. Everything was brilliantly white. Living in the Mount Washington Valley offers us many opportunities to stand silently amazed at the beauty God has created.

I’m blessed to be able to take Patches (aka Shrimpy) to work with me. Well, most days I consider it a blessing. Some days it’s just a plain nuisance. Anyway… this particular day – after the storm had painted our valley in white – I was letting her out the back door of the office. Now that it’s colder, I often just open the door, let her out, and watch her through the glass.

After a bit of prompting, she ventured out into the newly fallen powder… tentatively, as she doesn’t like the cold much more than I do. As I watched her tiptoe around, I noticed that her coat didn’t look as white as normal. She’s a jack russell terrior/Chihuahua mix… black and white. Ask anyone about her coloring and that’s just how they would describe her… black and white.

But against the backdrop of pure white snow, the true color of her fur became apparent. She’s not really black and white… she’s black and kind-of-white… or even yellow. The SNOW was white. Bright white. Magnificently white. Truly white.

“’Come now, let us reason together,’ says the LORD. ‘Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool.’” (Isaiah 1:18)

“Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.” (Psalm 51:7)

As I watched the dog shivering in the snow that day, I thought of the times I have tried to “do” righteously. As Christians, we would never say we think we have to earn our salvation… we know it’s a free gift, given by the Father, through the Son. Yet even as we quote chapter and verse from the Scriptures about how “it is by grace” we have been saved, “through faith, and this not from” ourselves (Eph. 2:8), deep down inside, we lose sight of that and begin relying on our service for validation… for approval… for a sense that we’re “ok”.

Maybe I’m the only one, but I know I’ve been guilty of getting caught up in “ministry” and placing more stock in the things I do than in Whose I am. Not all the time… but allowing myself to slip into that mentality at all is something I’d like to avoid. Nothing I do will ever qualify me for salvation. Only His blood can do that for me.  All of my righteousness is as filthy rags (Isaiah 64:6). It’s a yellow coat, next to His perfect purity. It doesn’t even come close to the perfection that He is… that He offers.

What a divine paradox… having a robe washed white in the blood of the Lamb (Rev. 7:14). I’ve always been a fan of fairytales… and I love playing Snow White!

Responses

  1. Sweet, very very sweet, and TRUE!

    Can I be Snow White with you? 🙂

    Lovingly,
    Yolanda

  2. Great post! It puts the depth of the forgiveness of our sins in perspective!


Leave a Reply

Categories

