Posted by: bellissimanh | December 29, 2009

By the Light of the Tree

One of my favorite things to do during the Christmas season is to sit by the light of the tree. I love to cozy up and settle in just before dark. Something I took note of this year was that as it grew darker around me, the lights on the tree shone brighter.

The lights on the tree grew in intensity with each passing moment. The less light from other sources, the more brilliantly those little bulbs on the tree sparkled.  There was nothing in the makeup of the lights that caused them to grow stronger… it was just that the environment around them changed. As the room grew darker, minus the light of the sun and other lamps, the bulbs on the tree seemed to rise up and shine.

How I pray my life would be like those lights.

See, there was another tree. It was adorned with an amazing Light — One that shone brighter than any other. In Him there is no darkness at all (1 John 1:5). It doesn’t get any brighter than that. He hung on that tree — the cross of Calvary — and as a result, decorated my life with His grace and love. By the Light of that tree, I have been made new. My heart of stone has been replaced with a heart of flesh… one that seeks after Him alone. He is my heart’s desire.

The Light of the World lives in me. I have no more or less of him today than I had yesterday, last month, or a year ago. Yet the world around me is constantly changing. It seems that the cultural fabric of our world is sliding hopelessly further and further away from the godly principles our nation was founded on. Evil abounds, and things that were once considered unconscionable are now commonplace.  I pray that as the darkness increases (and Scripture makes it clear that it will continue to do just that), the light of Christ in me will shine even brighter.

Light, by it’s very nature, dispels the darkness. There should be a stark contrast between my life and the ways of this world… like night and day. Father, make it so in my life! I want to shine for You… to bring You glory and honor, and to point the way to Christ, just as that star in the East led the wise men to Him… and may we all be led to the tree that held the Light of life.

” Do everything without complaining or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe as you hold out the word of life…” (Philippians 2:14-16a)

“You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden.  Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house.  Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.” (Matt. 5:14-16)

“The people who walked in darkness
      Have seen a great light;
      Those who dwelt in the land of the shadow of death,
      Upon them a light has shined.” (Isaiah 9:2)

*****************************************

” Then Jesus spoke to them again, saying, “I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.” (John 8:12)

Responses

  1. Heather,

    You are like those lights. A beautiful presence in the dark world that surrounds us.

    Lovely post, my friend. Have missed you here in blogland.

    Leah

  2. Heather,

    Your heart and faith for God has been so evident has your husband has been so ill. I pray that if I would be tested, that I would be found, rooted and grounded in Him as well. I love this from your heart today: I pray that as the darkness increases (and Scripture makes it clear that it will continue to do just that), the light of Christ in me will shine even brighter.

    I pray that for me as well, sweet Lady!

    Lovingly,
    Yolanda

  3. This is the very thing our pastor preached about this Christmas. That we would let our lights shine brightly in our ever darkening world. Thanks for putting into such eloquent words what we were learning this past December! Blessings for 2010!


Leave a Reply

Categories

