Posted by: bellissimanh | November 23, 2009

His Grace is Sufficient!

It’s hard for me to believe that Thanksgiving is merely days away. The past month has been so intense for me, and for my family, and the days have flown by in a whirlwind.   

In October, doctors discovered a large tumor growing in my husband’s spinal column. Thanksgiving will mark exactly one month (to the day) since we were given a positive diagnosis of lymphoma. The ironic timing of that brings a smile to my lips. In spite of cancer rearing its ugly head in our life in a huge way, we have been incredibly blessed, and we have so much to be thankful for!  

We have experienced the love, support, and prayers of family, friends, co-workers, clients, and church family (and even people we didn’t know KNEW us!) in ways we never could have imagined just a month ago. We have been overwhelmed by the care and concern of our entire community, and the Lord’s hand touching our lives, and we have been amazed and humbled by it all.  

In just a few short weeks, we have learned so much. We’ve learned about cancer, chemo therapy and blood cell counts. We’ve learned that our family is stronger than we ever knew. We’ve learned that the Lord provides for us in the most marvelous and unexpected ways. We’ve learned that when crisis hits, people come together and surround those affected in an embrace of warmth and comfort so deep that it defies comprehension. We’ve learned that compassion is an art, and that the pictures it paints decorate the halls of our hearts with beautiful shades of strength, encouragement and love.  

We have personally discovered the life-changing truth of 2 Corinthians 12:9:

“But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

The Lord has been whispering so many things to my heart during this time… teaching me so many things. Some of them I can’t even express in words yet, but like Mary, I’m treasuring them up in my heart. And maybe that’s as it should be. Perhaps some of these things were intended specifically for me alone, and not even meant to be shared. I think there’s something sacred in that. But I am reveling in His presence and provision just the same. I am my Beloved’s and He is mine, and His banner over me is definitely love!

My family is seeing Thanksgiving from an entirely new perspective this year. We’re not focused on the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, a delicious meal, and football (although we’re looking forward to all those things!), but rather we are embracing the opportunity to give thanks for a bounty that stretches beyond measure.  Not that we don’t always focus on the Lord and give Him thanks, but it seems that the things we have to be thankful for this year are so extreme and glorious that it has our hearts bursting with joy and gratitude. Everything… every feeling, every reflection… is magnified under the microscope of His goodness and faithfulness. He is worthy of so much more than our humble thanks, and yet He accepts our meager offering graciously and gives of Himself even more extravagantly in return. What an absolutely amazing Father we have!

Our prayer for you is that you will experience the grip of His grace this Thanksgiving. That you will view His provision with wonder and awe. May your day be filled with the laughter and love of family and friends, and special moments in which you catch a glimpse of memories in the making, and His glory revealed.

Grace and peace… from our house to yours!

 

Responses

  1. It’s been quite a month for you and your family. Something like this does change your perspective on things. Thanks for sharing this journey with us.

  2. Heather,

    I remember the Christmas after we discovered my Daddy’s colon cancer on Dec. 18th. I was numb from the shock of the diagnosis, yet we found ourselves clinging to each other in a new and different way. A diagnosis like this does a lot to remind you of priorities and the really important things in life.

    I continue to pray for ya’ll and hope that you have a marvelous Thanksgiving. We all have so much to be thankful for.

    Leah

  3. I love your perspective Heather! A month ago breast cancer was my worst nightmare. I remember waiting to go to the oncologist and reading your posts about your husband’s condition. I was instantly convicted and encouraged that if that was the road I was headed, I still had reason to rejoice. Number one reason being that even if my body was sick, nothing can separate my soul from the love of God, NOTHING! Next I started thanking God for the medical advances that we have to treat cancer. I am thankful for a benign diagnosis, but can now thank God for the experience as a whole because of the change of perspective it gave and the demonstration of His love through it all.

    Thank you for sharing your family the way you do through your writing and for your positive, uplifting approach to life. Hope you guys have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  4. Heather, these words of your heart caused my own heart to leap: He is worthy of so much more than our humble thanks, and yet He accepts our meager offering graciously and gives of Himself even more extravagantly in return. What an absolutely amazing Father we have!

    Heather, we have a Glorious Father, and His Son made you and I sisters, and you encourage me extremely, Sister.

    Lovingly with wishes for you and yours to have a BLESSED THANKSGIVING.

    Yolanda

  5. I love you.
    Nana Fran

  6. Heather, these are beautiful words, they really bless me.
    Thank you for sharing your journey with us and letting us see Jesus and His amazing love through you!

    Much love and hugs,
    Sue

  7. Heather, I agree with Yolanda. These words – “He is worthy of so much more than our humble thanks, and yet He accepts our meager offering graciously and gives of Himself even more extravagantly in return. What an absolutely amazing Father we have!” These words spoke to me as well, and lead me to speak to the Father heartfelt words of gratitude and praise this morning. Love you, Mom


Leave a Reply

Categories

