Posted by: bellissimanh | October 1, 2009

Invitation to Intimacy

 

“Seek the LORD while He may be found, call upon Him while He is near.”

I come to You, Lord, here in the early morning light. You have promised that You will draw near to those who draw near to You, and I am here, seeking You with all I have. What an honor and a privilege it is to have sweet fellowship with You! Thank You for being so present in my life, Father. For being so faithful.

“Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts; Let him return to the LORD, and He will have mercy on him; and to Our God, for He will abundantly pardon.”

I will never truly understand the depth of Your mercy and forgiveness, Lord. I know my past. Forget the past… I know my PRESENT. I know the evil that is within me, apart from Jesus. I can so relate to Paul and his struggle with the flesh. I know what You would have me do. I WANT to obey. Yet time and again I find myself in this seesaw place of back and forth. Help me to forsake the sin in my life, Lord… to forsake the thoughts that don’t honor You. I hear You calling me to forgive and to extend Your mercy and grace. Help me to remember the mercy and grace You have poured out into my own life, that I might dispense even a fraction of that on those who have are in need of the same from my hands… from my heart. Empty me of any selfish desires and fill me with Your Holy Spirit. Empower me to be Your hands and feet, even to those who have hurt me. No, especially to them. Give me holy eyes, that I might see them as You see them — not a surface viewing of behavior and actions, but to look beyond and see what’s in their hearts. Fill me with compassion, Lord. Thank You for Your abundant pardon. I am so undeserving of it, I know. It means everything to me, Father.

“‘For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,’ says the LORD. ‘For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts.”

Sometimes this complicates things for me, Lord. I so wish I could have complete understanding of the things You’re doing in my life, of who You are, of what You would have me to be. But at the same time, it’s comforting to know that I don’t have to have it all figured out. I couldn’t even if I tried. Your thoughts concerning grace exceed even my most vivid imagination, and the plans You have me are so far beyond my wildest dreams that I can’t even fathom them. My mind can’t even conceive of the things You have in store for me. Sometimes I think know that I’m better off not knowing what lies ahead. But this I do know: You are faithful and true. You have my best interests at heart, and You have a reason for everything… the good, the bad, and all the in between. Each moment has been carefully crafted by You for the purpose of helping me become the woman You created me to be. Thank You for caring enough about my character to never leave me alone. Thank You for being the sure foundation that I can build my life upon. In a world where everything seems so unstable, You are the one constant. You are the same yesterday, today, and forever. Even when I don’t understand Your thoughts… Your ways… You are my Rock, and it’s a comfort.

“‘For as the rain comes down, and the snow from heaven, and do not return there, but water the earth, and make it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower and bread to the eater, so shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; it shall not return to Me void, but it shall accomplish what I please, and it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.'”

Oh, Father… if this isn’t motivation to remain in You and Your Word, I don’t know what is! Just as rain falls and waters the earth, producing a bounty of provision for Your people, so You Word falls freshly on me and produces a harvest of righteousness. Help me to not just hear it, Lord, but to DO it. This beautiful, incredible, powerful love letter from You washes over me. At times it comes in torrents, beating down the strongholds in my life and reducing me to a soggy mess on the floor. At other times it comes as a gentle rain, beating a steady rhythm of truth upon my weary heart, penetrating my parched soul with refreshing newness of life. Thank You for the promise that Your Word is all-powerful, and that it will always accomplish the purpose for which You sent it. Give me ears to hear, Lord. Let me be forever changed by Your Truth. Your Word is life to me… Christ AND the written Word. Thank You for speaking. I’d be lost without You.

 

(Reflections on Isaiah 55:6-11)

Responses

  1. Amen and thank you

  2. Amen is all I have to add.

    Leah

  3. Beautiful and amen. 🙂

    By the way…you were one of the winners!!! (One Reason CD) Over at my place…soooooo…
    shoot me an e-mail to let me know where to have it sent!!!

    blessings,
    steph.


Leave a Reply

Categories

