Posted by: bellissimanh | September 23, 2009

Undone

Isaiah 6: 1-7

 1 In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord sitting on a throne, high and lifted up, and the train of His robe filled the temple. 2 Above it stood seraphim; each one had six wings: with two he covered his face, with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew. 3 And one cried to another and said:

      “ Holy, holy, holy is the LORD of hosts;
      The whole earth is full of His glory!”

 4 And the posts of the door were shaken by the voice of him who cried out, and the house was filled with smoke.
5 So I said:

      “ Woe is me, for I am undone!
      Because I am a man of unclean lips,
      And I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips;
      For my eyes have seen the King,
      The LORD of hosts.”

6 Then one of the seraphim flew to me, having in his hand a live coal which he had taken with the tongs from the altar. 7 And he touched my mouth with it, and said:

      “ Behold, this has touched your lips;
      Your iniquity is taken away,
      And your sin purged.”

Can you imagine? Isaiah was given a glimpse into the heavenly throne room of the King of kings… and it ruined him. Laid him out FLAT. When was the last time you were so captured by the majesty and holiness of God Almighty that you could do nothing but fall to your face before Him? Have you ever?

I’ve had a few instances when the Lord brought me to a keen awareness of the depth of my desperate need for Him. These spontaneous times of worship were like nothing I’ve ever experienced before. There’s something about eating the carpet and staining it with your tears that helps you to realize just how small you are in comparison to the Author of everything… how unworthy you are that He even THINKS of you, let alone desires to spend time with you and is intimately involved in the details of your life.

Often these times come in the midst of incredibly painful or difficult circumstances. It’s when I have come to the end of myself and found nothing there that I have craved His presence like a dying woman in search of the last morsel of sustenance. In those moments, I learn anew that self-sufficiency is a mirage, and that without Him, I truly am nothing. I see myself as I really am, in light of who HE is, and I am completely — utterly — undone.

We have wonderful terms to describe our Lord — Savior, Counselor, Comforter, Friend… and He is all those things, but I fear that often we focus so much on the loving and compassionate attributes of our Creator that we lose sight of the incredible reality of His awesome holiness. To quote James MacDonald, “We talk about Him as if He was our buddy. We wallow in sin, and revel in a grace that is cheapened because it is separated from this penetrating, purifying holiness.”

Let it not be so in me, Father. As I come face to face with the light of Your glory, expose me, Lord. Lay bare the sin in my life, the things in me that need to change… and empower me to walk forward in obedience this day. May I never take lightly the price You paid for my iniquity. Help me to stop comparing myself to others and remember that YOU are the standard. Let me never grow so comfortable in Your presence that I neglect to recognize Your holiness… Your complete purity… Your absolute sovereignty. You reign… over all. Father, be high and lifted up, seated on the throne of my LIFE, today.  Ruin me for anything but You. You deserve nothing less.

8 Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying:

      “ Whom shall I send,
      And who will go for Us?”

Then I said, “Here am I! Send me.”

Yes, Lord… although I am astonished that You could find anything to use in this wrecked life, even so… Here am I! Send me.

Responses

  1. Apparently, this passage has meant a lot to me over time. Found this post from June of 2008… https://bellissimanh.wordpress.com/2008/06/15/ruin-me/

  2. God has been putting that scripture in front of me lately – 3 times in the last few weeks. It shows his grandeur and glory each time I read it! I think we tend to decrease God – to meet our human knowledge, and speaking of his love makes Him less intimidating.

  3. I am longing for an experience like this again, having been fortunate enough to have had a few.. I have had Isaiah on my heart too. Hopefully its a good sign for me. I have a date with the Lord tomorrow morning, going to bed early tonight! 🙂

  4. I was just thinking about this very topic sometime tonight. Thanks for being used of God to make me continue to meditate on His holiness!

  5. That is why He is El Shaddai!! My sufficiency for I am so insufficient as a savior. Thank you Jesus for Who you are!!

    Great, great post, Heather. Moved my heart greatly as I have been focusing on just that passage recently

    Leah


Leave a Reply

Categories

