Posted by: bellissimanh | September 17, 2009

My Covering

I am not a housekeeper by any stretch of the imagination. I could tell you that it’s because I lead such a full life that I have no time for cleaning, but that would be a lie. I just don’t LIKE cleaning.  Fly Lady exhausts me, and as much as I love Rachel Anne and enjoy “Home Sanctuary“, I always fall short in this department.

I don’t really think about it much (cleaning), except when I’m expecting company. Like today. At kind of the last minute my Thursday girls (that’s seriously what I lovingly refer to y’all as, y’know!) and I decided to have study here… at my home (you know… the one I don’t clean much?). I did pick up a bit, and Joel made a quick pass through the livingroom with the vacuum, but that was about the extent of  it.  I certainly didn’t wash the floors or even *gasp* clean the bathroom special. My house didn’t smell BAD, but it certainly didn’t have that “powerful scent of real clean” that Pine Sol promises to deliver.

Enter Febreze candles. I love, love, LOVE this candle! I couldn’t even tell you the scent, only that it’s the bluish green one and it smells divine. I’m sure my room in heaven is gonna have a couple of these babies in it! I burned the candles for an hour or so and blew them out, confident that they had done their job of covering up any foul odors that might be lurking, and praying the fragrance in the air would be enough to mask any unpleasantness that might possibly emanate from the trash can.

I’m happy to report that not one of my precious sisters commented on my lack of domestic prowess, and we had a lovely time of sweet study and fellowship. Yet my mind kept returning to those candles throughout the day.

How often do I try to do the same type of covering up in my life? There are certainly things within me that I wouldn’t want for others to see, and sometimes don’t even want to acknowledge myself. Things that are definitely not sweet or pleasant. The stench of sin is powerful, and it lingers. I try to make a covering for myself in all kinds of ways. I throw myself into ministry and pray that  people won’t realize that I don’t have it altogether. I paint on a smile, hoping  no one will see that inside I’m crumbling.  I focus on the shortcomings of someone else because it’s easier than looking at the sin in my own life. 

And so I cover. But listen to me… man-made solutions for guilt and shame will never work.

In the garden, Adam and Eve tried to hide themselves in fig leaves… but the plants couldn’t even come close to being an adequate covering. It was the Lord Himself who provided the skins… the atonement.

“And the Lord God made garments of skin for Adam and his wife, and clothed them.” (Gen. 3:21)

Can you imagine what it must have been like for Eve that day? Watching as the Lord took an innocent animal, slew it in front of her, skinned it, and then wrapped it’s likely still warm hide around her naked body?

The Hebrew word for “garments” (k@thoneth) signifies a complete covering from head to foot. Don’t you just love that? This is a TOTAL covering… there’s nothing partial or temporary about it. Adam’s fig leaves were merely enough to cover his loins – but the Lord’s provision was enough to cover everything.

And in the fullness of time, Christ became the perfect and ultimate sacrifice. To quote Will Pounds, “What begins as a small ray of light in Genesis shines forth in full noonday sun in the Gospels.” Hallelujah! Behold, the Lamb of God Who takes away the sins of the world!

“I will rejoice greatly in the Lord,
My soul will exult in my God;
For He has clothed me with garments of salvation,
He has wrapped me with a robe of righteousness,
As a bridegroom decks himself with a garland,
And as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.”  (Isaiah 61:10)

Now that’s a covering! No amount of Febreze, righteous acts, or wishful thinking will ever hold a candle to the reality of being clothed in Christ. Ever.

Responses

  1. You really spoke to me tonight. I love candles and so appreciate a sweet smell in the air. But – I’m also guilty of doing that covering up in life thing. Covered by Christ though – that’s a blessing!

  2. Ahhh…the covering of Christ. Wonder if the fragrance of Christ is similar to that divine Febreeze??

    My girls in Florida were my Wednesday Girls…made my heart ache a bit for them, as I read of your sweet Thursday Girls. Nothing quite like them, is there?

    Blessings,
    Melinda

  3. Hmmm, I’ve never smelled the Febreeze candle…I’ll have to check it out. Great post, would write more but I have a little one crying in the other room…motherhood calls!

  4. Nice Heather. Thanks for the powerful lesson of God’s provision.

    I too have a Thursday girls’ club down here. I too run around at the last minute picking up but unlike you I don’t have kids at home so it’s not quite so bad.

    You know the saying, “if you’re coming to visit to see the house, make an appointment but if you’re coming to visit me, come anytime.”

    gotta check out that candle 🙂

  5. what a great devotion Heather!! I loved the way you made that comparison about masking the “stench” of a messy home to masking the stench of sin! So easy to relate to!!

  6. What an awesome blog. I came over via Mari’s Little Corner of the World. I will be back. My cover up? I go into hibernation mode, I retreat and avoid – I think I hit a point of feeling that no one wants to know you when you are down so I try to ride it out and cover up with not saying what’s what.


Leave a Reply

Categories

