Posted by: bellissimanh | September 14, 2009

Holy Rock & Roll

Noah recently celebrated his ninth birthday. It’s still hard for me to fathom that he’s that old, but that’s another post. ūüėČ

One of the things he really wanted this year was a rock tumbler. I picked up this Science Museum model at one of our local favorites – the Toy Chest. It promised to take rough, jagged rocks and turn them into smooth, polished stones. And so it does! We’ve been very pleased with the results! Look out, neighbors… I’m sensing a new “gem stand” being set up on Birch Hill. The wheels are already turning (in his HEAD, as well as the rock tumbler). Hey, need I remind you¬†this is¬†the kid who made $14 selling tap water at the edge of the driveway?

The rock tumbler started out on the counter. It was quickly relocated to the basement, and finally found it’s home in the garage. The concept itself is very cool. You put the rocks in, along with some water and polishing sand. The tumbler spins (it’s electric), and the elements combine to produce the desired product: glassy pebbles from junky rocks. The transformation is both dramatic and beautiful — but the process is NOISY! (Hence the wonderful machine’s exile to the garage).

Can you guess where I’m going with this?

Right now, the Lord has me in His holy tumbler. Through specific circumstances and the general flow of life, I’ve recently found myself feeling pretty tossed… shaken up… bruised, even. I feel beaten down by things that are outside of my control, and I don’t mind telling you that I have not submitted to this process quietly. I have whined much more than any of the noises coming from that rock tumbler, which was so loud¬†we banished it to the garage!

Sometimes they are¬†shouts of protest – “Why me, Lord?”

Sometimes they are angry retorts – “This isn’t FAIR!”

Sometimes they are¬†tearful pleas ¬†– “I can’t do this anymore, Father… help me!”

Ultimately, they have come to be cries of surrender – “I don’t understand, Lord… but I trust You completely. Somehow I believe that You will take this¬†sorrow and transform it into something sacred. Take it… and all of me.¬† Not my will, Father, but have YOUR way in this. Be glorified.”

As the Lord takes us through this journey of sanctification, it’s rarely easy (is it EVER easy?). As we find ourselves smashed up against the hard things of life, it’s easy to become discouraged. And yet the Lord combines those hard things – the grinding powder — with the water of His Holy Spirit, and the result is beautiful transformation. He is able to take this crude, unrefined child with all her sharp and jagged edges, and create something that is more beautiful than she could have imagined… something that’s of value and great worth. And maybe… just maybe… by the time He is finished with the process, He’ll be able to see Himself in her reflection.

“And we, who with unveiled faces all reflect the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into His likeness with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.” (2 Cor. 3:18)

In the end, that is my greatest desire – to reflect His glory to the world around me. I want to look so much like Jesus that there is no escaping the family resemblance. I want to give those I meet an accurate picture of what God is like, as He lives through me and loves through me. I want to be sanctified – set apart as a holy vessel that is useful in the Master’s hands. His gem.

And if it takes a season in the tumbler to accomplish that… bring it on, Lord.

I’m Yours.

Responses

  1. My husband also tumbles rocks and glass. I love collecting OCEAN glass when we are gone on vacation and I have it sitting front and center over my kitchen sink to remind me that I am a work in progress. That God is tumbling me with His word and His Holy SPIRIT to make me into what He designed me to be.

    Love to you as you and I continue to allow Him to tumble us.

    Yolanda

  2. I too thought of rocks I’ve picked up at the ocean that have been beaten about and smothed by the process. Something beautiful out of something once so rough around the edges.
    I easily identify with your words above. Surrender is not always easy – but always rewarding!
    Blessings ~ Lisa


Leave a Reply

Categories

