Posted by: bellissimanh | September 8, 2009

Blessings of the Balsam

While enjoying a game of minigolf with my family yesterday, we came across a balsam tree that looked strange. Most of the branches were dark green, but there were sections of the tree that balsam-fir-needleswere a different shade of green… a lighter, more grayish blue green. As I looked at the tree, I wondered if the sun had hit those branches and weathered them. I imagined them being parched from the sun, and faded (kind of like fabric fades after repeated exposure to the sun).

When I asked Joel about the tree, offering my suggestion for the change in color of the needles, he informed me that the lighter green sections on the ends of the boughs were this year’s new growth. Really?

As I thought about that, I was amazed at the lesson I felt the Lord impressing on my heart. I’m currently going through a season of growth. The Lord is shifting things around in my life, reminding me that He is the only solid foundation I have. He is using my circumstances to grow me into the woman that He created me to be — one who rests on His faithfulness and looks more and more like His Son. There are times when I feel parched… I feel as if the sun has been beating down on me and I’m just plain worn out from it.  Yet when I’m tempted to view things in a negative light (as I saw the “parched” needles on the balsam tree), the Lord reveals to me that really what I’m seeing is not dried up life — it’s new growth.

Just as the balsam tree had sections of needles that were different colored, when I go through a season of growth in my walk with the Lord, people should be able to notice changes in me.  I cannot have an intimate encounter with the Lord Jesus Christ and remain unchanged… I should look DIFFERENT.

A sweet friend reminded me of one of her favorite verses the other day:

“…being confident of this, that He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” (Phil. 1:6)

How thankful I am for that! And also for this…

“Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” (2 Cor. 5:17)

And this…

“Then He who sat on the throne said, ‘Behold, I make all things new…'” (Rev. 21:5)

I’m grateful for this season of growth. I want to become the woman that the Lord desires for me to be. I want to look different, to reflect the image of His Son. I want others to look at my life and notice a marked change in what was and what has come to be. I want them to marvel at Jesus in me.  I want to be a living testimony of His faithfulness to do what He has promised to do in me. I want to bring glory and honor to Him in all that I do and say. Father, make it so in my life today.

Responses

  1. I’ve seen the different colors on the new growth of pines before. Now when I see it, I’ll be rminded of our new growth in Christ!

  2. May God grant you the desires of your heart!
    Blessings ~ Lisa

  3. Heather, I want the same thing. So often when we are going through seasons of growth we feel like we are being absolutely worn out instead of being made new. I love the verses that you gave us reminding us that we ARE being made new as we walk with Him.

    Leah

  4. I love you! I see new growth on you every day! I also see old things being removed for the new Christ like features to take their place. (Chisleing? 😉 Thankfully, when we go through the hard things that do cause us to grow, He’s there too. My prayer is to be submissive to His will for me during those times! Love you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

