Posted by: bellissimanh | August 25, 2009

Catch the Wave!

 

As I type this I’m sitting on a beautiful beach in Scarborough, Maine. My toes are freshly painted (Yes, I know it’s strange to be painting your toenails at the beach. What can I say – I’M A BUSY WOMAN.)

 

My family has escaped for the afternoon. Our “daycation” (as we’ve come to call it) has brought us to Pine Point, our favorite beach on the East Coast. The wind is brisk today, whipping the waves into a frenzy, to the delight of my children. Summer has finally arrived in New England!

 

As I watch Noah play in the waves, I’m glad to see him having so much fun. I laugh as I watch him jump back and forth, alternating between trying to catch the waves, and trying to escape them. At the same time, I feel this tension as my “mom sensors” awaken, knowing that the very waves that bring him such joy could also be dangerous.

 

And I think about my walk with the Lord and the way I handle some of the “fun” things in my life.  Just like Noah, I often find myself running toward something one minute, and then changing my mind at the last minute and deciding that getting so close to the waves isn’t really what I wanted. How Satan loves to trick us into thinking that sin is fun. He disguises clever attempts at enticing us to evil by packaging them in circumstances that delight… that seem innocent enough.

 

And yet some of those things that we are eager to jump at and play in have the potential to bring incredible destruction to our lives. What may appear to be a pleasant distraction can actually be a path to shame and regret. How very vigilant we must be.

 

1Pe 5:8  Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.

 

Hanging too closely to the waves can certainly leave us floundering, terrifies, even breathless at times, but praise, thanks and glory be to the One who whispers, “Peace. Be still”!  The wind and the waves – and the circumstances of our lives – all fall under His sovereign control. Hallelujah!

 

Psa 93:4  Mightier than the thunders of many waters, mightier than the waves of the sea,

          the LORD on high is mighty!

 

And He is mighty over whatever situation you find yourself in today. Have you been playing too close to the water’s edge? Are you drowning in the consequences of the choices you’ve made apart from His direction? Listen. The second your heart breaks over that sin and you turn from it, He is there. His arms are open wide and He is ready to embrace you with His grace and empower you with His Spirit. So what are YOU waiting for? I’ve been there, and let me tell you – there’s nothing this world has to offer that beats riding the waves of His mercy.

Responses

  1. In my minds eye you’ve taken me to my favorite place on this earth – the beach. I’ll be savouring this all day.
    Blessings ~ Lisa

  2. I’ve been there as well and I am in total agreement with you. HIS MERCY AND GRACE RULE! Lovingly, Yolanda

  3. I have played way too near the dangerous waves way too often in my past. By God’s grace, I will not go there again. I try soooo very hard to walk in His way…the only safe place to be. Beautiful post, Heather!

    Leah

  4. Amen! Psst – how did you keep the blowing sand out of the pedicure ;0)

  5. Joy – I sat in the middle of a BIG blanket! 🙂

  6. Thanks for the reminder. My dad used to say, “You can’t pet a rattlesnake just a little bit.”

  7. Oh the joy of splashing around over here. Such a delight to meet you. I haven’t painted my toenails in months … maybe I’ll do it today on a big blanket.

    Blessings from Costa Rica,
    Sarah Dawn


Leave a Reply

Categories

