Posted by: bellissimanh | June 25, 2009

Ease on Down the Road…

That’s kind of where we’re at here at Valley Christian Church.

We heard back from our pastoral candidate last weekend. He said that while he and his family loved the people in our fellowship and were grateful for the time spent with us, they do not feel the Lord calling them to Valley Christian Church. And that’s ok. Truly, it is.

I’m thankful that the Lord led us as a fellowship to unity regarding this candidate, and that we were obedient to follow His leading, but I’m also thankful that He is sovereign over everything — including this important decision of selecting a senior pastor. I am so grateful to the Lord that He was able to bring me to a place of being good with this situation, however it worked out. If Pastor “Starburst” had accepted the call, I would have been good with that too. I’m trusting that the Lord knows what’s best for our church, and He is even now preparing the heart of the man HE has chosen for us. And when He brings him to us, it will be a perfect fit.

I’m also praising God that we have an excellent associate pastor who is going to continue to preach the Word of God, undiluted and unashamedly, from the pulpit. Tim and Melissa are a joy and an incredible blessing to our church! We also have a dedicated board of elders… Spirit-filled men of God who love and look after our flock…. and an ultimate Shepherd in Christ Jesus who is endlessly faithful. We’re in good hands. 🙂

In spite of not having a senior pastor for the past two years, God has worked mightily in our fellowship. We’ve experienced spiritual growth (as well as growth in numbers), and I don’t think people are dissatisfied or anxious. It’s always nice to know what’s in store, and it will definitely be nice (and a comfort) when we have a senior pastor installed… but it’s not like things are falling apart without one either. The Lord has been so good to us and blessed us in so many ways… it’s hard to complain. That’s a good thing. 🙂

That said, I know that there are some folks a little saddened that this candidate didn’t work out. It was just a God-thing that the daily devotional several of the women and I share via email was about disappointment today. Don’t you love how He works those things out? He is such a personal God, concerned with all that concerns us. There is nothing to big for Him… and nothing too small as to escape His attention. What an awesome Lord we have!

As we sang “Blessed Be Your Name” on Sunday, it was impossible for me not to think of that whole pastor search process as I sang, “You give and take away… You give and take away… My heart will choose to say, Lord, blessed be Your name!” Yes, in spite of it all… we will ease on down the road, following Christ, and we will bless His name. He is worthy!

As I mentioned above, I really was ok with the way the Lord worked this thing out. I read the devo this morning about disappointment, knowing it would speak to some about the disappointment of beginning the process of searching for a senior pastor again… but for me, it hit a different chord.

Father, most often my disappointments are not with circumstances, but with myself. I want so much to be like Jesus, and each time I fall short of what I know You would want from me, the disappiontment grows a bit more. I take comfort from the fact that You will be faithful to complete the work You’ve begun in me. Give me patience, Lord… and the ability to know — not just to think in my head, but to KNOW — that You are working behind the scenes and that You note not only my failures, but that You see the growth in me too. Thank You for using me in spite of me. Thank You for revealing more of Yourself to me each day… for continuing this process of sanctification. Thank You for keeping me humble, but Lord, keep me too from being self deprecating, as we talked about in Bible Study a few weeks ago. Show me how to maintain a healthy balance, Lord, between being prideful and recognizing the work You’ve done in my heart… in my life. May You receive all the glory. Anything good in me is Jesus alone… it’s to His credit. Mostly, I ask You to help me get over myself, Lord… shift my focus so that it rests on You, instead of me. I want to be consumed by You, by Your power, by Your goodness, by Your love. Empty me of myself this day and fill me with Your Holy Spirit. Use me to minister to others. I want to be Your vessel today, Lord… a tool in Your hands through which You reveal Yourself to those around me. I love You, Lord… and I thank You for loving me.

 

“Through Jesus, therefore, let us continually offer to God a sacrifice of praise—the fruit of lips that confess his name.” (Hebrews 13:15)

Responses

  1. May God bring your church someone who is exceedingly abundantly more than all you could ask or think!!

    Leah

  2. That is such a powerful song. We learned it from our youth pastor who about a year later lost an infant son. Through the middle of that situation he still was able to sing that song with arms raised high.
    God has the right person for your church and I know you will be able to continue to sing – Blessed be you name!

  3. I’m sorry it didn’t work out for VCC. We were hoping and praying that this man would be the man that God had in mind to lead the next stage of VCC. This isn’t the first time we’ve been told to be patient and I’m sure it won’t be the last.

    Hang in there. I’m sure God has something awesome up his sleeve!

    P.S. It hasn’t been two years…..yet. We moved here in November!!!

  4. I stand corrected. Been thinking in general terms here. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

