Posted by: bellissimanh | April 15, 2009

Odds and Ends

If you’re looking for a more “spiritual” post, check out When He Calls Your Name.

I didn’t get my verses learned for Memory Monday this week. No excuses, it just didn’t happen. I’ll do better next week. ūüôā

I had a bit of a sore throat yesterday but shrugged it off. I woke this morning to one side of my throat being swollen (you know — when it’s tough to swallow?) and an ache in my left ear. Ugh. I’m going to take some leftover antibiotics (yes – I know you’re supposed to always FINISH the medication, so I have no idea why there’s a half-full bottle of amoxicillen in the cupboard) and some zyrtec and pray that this is just allergies. That would be nice.

I’m going to take advantage of the day at home and get some studying done. I’m way behind in my homework for the Beth Moore study (again, no excuses), and am needing some dedicated time alone with the Lord. Longing for it. Craving it. I’m going to cherish it.

I also have to get my dinner theatre script memorized. It was supposed to be done on April 3rd. Hmmmmmmmmmm.

Are you sensing a pattern here?

What is it that gets us off course and leads us to lose focus? The busyness of the holidays? Sickness? I’m not sure what it is.

Jasmine is in DC on a school trip this week. I miss her like crazy. It’s quieter around here… and I hate coming home to an empty house after work. It sounds like she’s having a good time, but it has me remembering our family trip to DC and longing for a vacation.¬†

A friend called yesterday for prayer. Her mom has terminal cancer and they have decided to stop her chemo treatments. The disease has spread to both lungs, and they’ve given her 3-4 months to live. I cried with my sweet friend and prayed with her. She’s confident in her mom’s salvation, yet the grieving process is still difficult. She lost her father just a year ago.

Tomorrow I will be attending a funeral. Another friend’s father passed away this week after a two-year battle with cancer. As far as I know, the family does not know the Lord (including my friend), and so my heart is doubly aching for them today. Death is hard enough when you have eternal hope. I’m not sure how people cope without that.¬† I pray that through this process, they will seek out God and¬†discover the hope that is found in Christ alone. I pray that I will be ready if the Lord chooses to use me to show them.

I guess I’ve just given you my prayer list for today, huh? Jasmine away in DC, my friend Sheree and her mom, my friend Gwen & her family¬†as they mourn the loss of her father.¬† And I pray that in the midst of it all, I will fix my eyes on Jesus, the author and perfector of my faith, and that in spite of the trappings of this life, I will experience fullnes of joy in His presence.

Psalm 121

A Song of Ascents.

¬†1 I will lift up my eyes to the hills‚ÄĒ
         From whence comes my help?
 2 My help comes from the LORD,
         Who made heaven and earth. 
 3 He will not allow your foot to be moved;
         He who keeps you will not slumber.
 4 Behold, He who keeps Israel
         Shall neither slumber nor sleep. 
 5 The LORD is your keeper;
         The LORD is your shade at your right hand.
 6 The sun shall not strike you by day,
         Nor the moon by night. 
 7 The LORD shall preserve you from all evil;
         He shall preserve your soul.
 8 The LORD shall preserve your going out and your coming in
         From this time forth, and even forevermore
.

Responses

  1. Lifting you up dear friend and each of your requests.
    Blessings – Lisa

  2. I hope you feel better today. Life is just hard, isn’t it? I love Psalm 121. It is on my ‘to memorize list’ when I get finished with Isaiah 55.

    Have a blessed day!!

    Leah


Leave a Reply

Categories

