Posted by: bellissimanh | April 9, 2009

Love Song

I’m a type A personality, which means that I consider time spent driving in the car wasted if I’m not doing something else while we ride… like talking on the phone. Or memorizing my verses. Or working on music.

This week I’ve been practicing the song “Via Dolorosa” to have ready for our Good Friday service. Since Noah often is in the car with me, he’s heard it enough that he can sing the english parts himself (and he’s got pretty good pitch, too… if I do say so myself!)

But when it gets to the spanish verse, he stops singing and listens. Eventually he said to me, “Mama, when you sing in spanish, it sounds like a love song.”

I smiled and informed him that whether it’s sung in spanish or english, this IS indeed a love song. It’s a beautiful ballad that tells the story of Jesus’ love for us. It is filled with passion and sacrifice.  He gave His life in exchange for mine.  Christ chose to walk that difficult road to the cross and give His life there because of His great love for me. And for Noah. And for you.

 

“Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends.” (John 15:13)

“God demonstrated His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8)

“By this we know love, because He laid down His life for us. And we also ought to lay down our lives for the brethren.” (1 John 3:16)

 

 

What does Easter mean to you? Is it cute little bunnies and jelly beans? Is it a chance to have a big meal and hang out with family? Is it an excuse to sleep in?

Or is it a celebration of the One who died that you might live? Do you understand the depth of His love for you? The price He paid to give you hope of Heaven? See, without Good Friday there would be no Easter Sunday. And He did it all for you. Now that’s love… true, pure, faithful, unadulterated love.

Responses

  1. I’ve been reading THE PASSION of JESUS CHRIST by John Piper. It has totally changed my perspective of Jesus and what He has done for me.
    First, it spoke to me so profoundly how he (or do I say ‘they’?) chose before the world was even made that this would be the plan – the ‘they’ would create us, we would sin, need a savior, that the payment for that sin would be death – Jesus’ death. He decided before I was even around to die for me… He loved me so much to chose a pay a very high price for me.
    The most recent one that has touched me is a though from Galatians 1:4 –
    “He gave himself for our sins to deliver us from this present evil age, according to the will of God our Father.”
    He died – so that sin has no control or power over me… why do I sometimes let sin have dominion? it gave me something to think about! a real desire to NOT let sin rule…. I know I won’t be perfect, but I want to aim towards that – when I think of how much he suffered for me – how can I dare to chose to walk in sin? that has been a big challenge for me lately!!!
    yea, thinking about the cross has deepened my love for him..

  2. Heather,
    what a wonderful post reminding us of the sacrifice of Christ. i would love to hear you sing Via Dolorosa!! Have a wonderful Holy Week. I am in Florida on a little vacation. The weather is warm and I am getting some time to do some writing on a couple of messages for a retreat. Blessings to you.

    Leah

  3. Phil is 4 this year and I am struggling to set a tradition this Easter for him. I don’t want it to be chocolate bunnies either. At this point I’m thinking cooking fish on the beach at sunrise. Like when Jesus did before He ascended to heaven. Any input please?

  4. I love this song. Every time I hear it, it just brings tears to my eyes to remember His great love for me. Have a wonderful Easter!

    Xandra

  5. Heather, I can’t wait to hear you sing that!! What a beautiful song, and Noah was right, it sure is a great love song, the ultimate sacrifice for the greatest love. How blessed we all are, do we even realize it??

  6. A way of sorrows as a love song. Marvelous.


Leave a Reply

Categories

