Posted by: bellissimanh | March 23, 2009

Memory Monday – Back on Track

Back on track this week… beginning with the seventh stanza:

Remember Your word to Your servant, upon which You have caused me to hope. This is my comfort in my affliction, for Your word has given me life. The proud have me in great derision, yet I do not turn aside from Your law. I remembered Your judgments of old, Oh Lord, and have comforted myself.

Inidignation has taken hold of me because of the wicked who forsake Your law. Your statutes have been my songs in the house of my pilgrimage. I remember Your name in the night, Oh Lord, and I keep Your law. This has become mine, because I kept Your precepts.

You are my portion, Oh Lord. I have said that I would keep Your words. I entreated Your favor with my whole heart; be merciful to me according to Your word. I have thought about my ways and and turned my feet to Your commandments. I made haste and did not delay to keep Your commandments.

The cords of the wicked have bound me, yet I have not forgotten Your law. At midnight I will rise and give thanks to You because of Your righteous judgments. I am a companion of all who fear You and of those who keep Your precepts. The earth, O Lord, is full of Your mercy. Teach me Your statutes.

(Psalm 119:49-64)

For next week I’ll work on v. 65-68…

You have dealt well with Your servant, O LORD, according to Your word. Teach me good judgment and knowledge, for I believe Your commandments. Before I was afflicted I went astray, but now I keep Your word. You are good, and do good; teach me Your statutes.

So what’s on YOUR mind? What are you memorizing? Is God using it to minister to you? Share!

Responses

  1. I am in the process of memorizing Isaiah 55–doing 2 verses a week in the LPL Scripture memory thingy. I’ve mastered verses 1-4 thus far and am headed toward 5-6.

    I love how memorizing Scripture increases my knowlege of God as well as improves my relationship with Him.

    Have a blessed evening!!

    Leah

  2. Glad to hear this week was better and that you are back on track with the memory verses. You are such an encouragement to me in this area of my walk!

    Xandra

  3. Hi!! It’s been awhile. I got stuck, then took a break, and am going again!!! I am really wanting to memorize Romans 8, so that got me motivated again. I’ll probably finish chapter 2, go to Romans 8, and then come back to finish II Tim.

    so, in II Tim 2:11-22

    It is a faithful saying, if we be dead with him, we shall also live with him;
    If we suffer, we shall also reign with him; if we deny him, he also will deny us.
    If we believe not, yet he abides faithful, he cannot deny himself.
    Of these things put them in remembrance, charging them before the Lord, that they strive not about words to not profit, but to the subverting of the hearers.
    Study to show yourself approved unto God, a workman that needs not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the Word of truth.
    but shun van and profane babblings, which shall increase unto more ungodliness.
    and their word does eat like a canker, of whom are Hymaneus and Philetus;
    who concerning the truth have erred, saying that the resurrection is past already, overthrowing the faith of some.
    Neverthless, the word of God stands sure, having this seal, the lord knows them that are His, and let everyone who names the name of Christ depart from iniquity.
    but in a great house there are vessels of gold and of silver, but also of wood and earth, some to honor and some to dishonor,
    If a man therefore purge himself from these things, he shall be a vessel of honor, sanctified, and fit for the masters use, and prepared unto every good work.
    Flee also youthful lusts, but follow after righteousness, faith, charity, peace, with them that call on the Lord out of a pure heart.
    but foolish and unlearned questions avoid, knowing that they do gender strifes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

